Posts Tagged ‘The Chills’

Luna have a new digital EP that collects of of their recent limited 7″ singles released on Sonic Cathedral, PIAPTK and Feral Child. They include a few covers plus “Something in the Air” (with Sean Eden on lead vocal), instrumental “The Oort Cloud and Kuiper Belt” (a pair of Luna original instrumentals) and a remix of “Gin.”

Postscripts collects Luna’s recent limited 7″ singles (now out of print) Among other tracks are “California Blue” (Roy Orbison), “Inside Your Heart” (Monochrome Set), “Lonesome Cowboy Bill” (VU),
released September 6th, 2019

Luna was formed in 1991 by Dean Wareham after the breakup of Galaxie 500, with Stanley Demeski of The Feelies and Justin Harwood of The Chills. Guitarist Sean Eden joined in 1994, Lee Wall replaced Demeski on drums in 1997, and Britta Phillips replaced Harwood on bass in 2000. Luna released their final album, “Rendezvous”, in 2005 after playing their final concert at the Bowery Ballroom in NYC.


The Chills release their new album, Snow Bound, this weekend . It’s a heavier, darker record than 2016’s Silver Bullets (and maybe more than any in main man Martin Phillipps’ career). You can hear that on single “Complex,” which marries fuzzy power chords to thick synthesizers and Phillipps’ patented spiderweb wordplay. There are actual spiderwebs — and the arachnids who make them — in the “Complex” video too. Directed by Phoebe Lysbeth Kay Mackenzie, the gorgeously shot video brings Phillipps’ lyrics to dark life.

The Chills – Complex Taken from the album, ‘Snow Bound’

A wonder that it exists at all, Martin Phillips and co have produced a stunning record of infectious pop tunes which manages both to capture the essence of the Chills as well as updating their sound for the 21st century. Miraculous just about covers ‘Silver Bullets’ and it’s a worthy record to add to your collection.

Taken from the Chills album Silver Bullets  Last night at Albany Street Studios, Dunedin, we Chills celebrated the completion of the recording of our new album ‘Silver Bullets’ with a fish and chip meal shared with long suffering family members and then the playback of one hurriedly mixed track.

The album will be mixed in London in August/September and we are now discussing release dates.

I am thrilled to report that, after fifteen days of twelve hours plus work (with brilliant sound engineer/co-producer Brendan Davies doing considerably more than that) we have completed this challenging adventure with everyone not only still talking to each other but, in fact, closer, friendlier and all excited at having produced something special which we know will stand proudly alongside anything The Chills have released to date.
I can’t wait until you all get to hear it and decide for yourselves.




The Chills the Dunedin, New Zealand-based band whose early records were released by Flying Nun—haven’t put out a full-length since 1996’s “Sunburnt”. (In 2004, they put out a mini-album, Stand By, and in 2014, a single and a tour EP.) Their next LP, “Silver Bullets”, arrives on October 30th via Fire. Listen to “America Says Hello” above.
The album also features a re-recording of “Molten Gold”, which was released two years ago.
For this album, Chills main man Martin Phillipps is joined by James Dickson, Todd Knudson, Erica Stichbury, and Oli Wilson. While Phillipps is set to play solo shows later this year, a full band tour is in the works for next year. The album was recorded at Albany Street Studios in Dunedin.
Silver Bullets:
01 Father Time
02 Warm Waveform
03 Silver Bullets
04 Underwater Wasteland
05 America Says Hello
06 Liquid Situation
07 Pyramid/When The Poor Can Reach The Moon
08 Aurora Corona
09 I Can’t Help You
10 Tomboy
11 Molten Gold