Posts Tagged ‘Glass Modern Records’

Sonic Youth have a new split-7″ with Glaswegian indie legends The Pastels featuring previously released covers of New York Dolls‘ songs. The Pastels’ cover of “Lonely Planet Boy” dates from 1987 and was originally appeared on their Comin’ Through EP, and Sonic Youth’s cover of “Personality Crisis” was originally released as a 7″ via Sassy Magazine in 1990, and later appeared on the 1993 Whores Moaning EP and the deluxe edition of “Dirty“.

The cover art for this split-7″ was designed by Annabel Wright and it’s due out November 5th via Glass Modern. Preorder yours from the North American or European store, and you can listen to both covers below.

The music we love passes from one generation to the next and the New York Dolls will always be a group to celebrate. Both Sonic Youth and The Pastels are not only fans but covered two of their most iconic songs a few years apart, in 1987 (The Pastels Lonely Planet Boy) and 1992 (Sonic Youth – Personality Crisis). Glass Modern is really thrilled to bring these two fantastic versions together in a limited edition split 7” single with Annabel Wright cover art. New York Dolls forever.

An early touchstone for The Pastels was New York Dolls amazing Old Grey Whistle Test appearance which Brian had on Beta tape along with other select choices which he liked to share as the mood took him. A few years later, in 1987, we decided to cover their broken ballad, “Lonely Planet Boy” on our Comin’ Through 12”. This of course came out on Glass Records. Glass is happily now back in business as Glass Modern and when the owner, Dave Barker, suggested we might release it as part of a New York Dolls tribute we were into the idea – particularly as he wanted to pair it with Sonic Youth’s “Personality Crisis” which we love. Unfortunately the master tape was missing, although we had the multi-track which we worked on with Paul Savage at Chem 19, going for something very close to the original. This is now coming out on November 5th as a 7” on purple vinyl with a fab Annabel Wright cover and is available on presale from Monorail Music and other reliable sources.

Glass Modern is a new imprint of Glass Records, for new recordings and a choice selection of Ltd Edition reissues on CD, Vinyl & downloads.


The solo discography of Sonic Youth co-founder Thurston Moore is littered with limited run work released on small indie labels amid his more blue chip LPs like Psychic Hearts and Demolished Thoughts. This 1995 recording of the guitarist making a free form racket with drummer Tom Surgal, for example, was originally issued only on CD in New Zealand by Bruce Russell of The Dead C. Did this need to be brought to a larger audience by U.K. label Glass Modern on a white vinyl pressing? Maybe not but we should still celebrate it.

Moore is as great an improviser as he is a songwriter and this explosive session is all the proof you’ll need of that. He sticks to a series of ringing tones, peppered with small sprays of feedback that builds and recedes with intensity as the mood and Surgal’s drums strike him. By the end, during the closing piece “Phase II,” he’s releasing little notes and squalls while the drums take control and drive them both toward infinity. Follow them into the light, brothers and sisters.

An extract from the Glass Modern Vinyl Reissue. First time on Vinyl. Originally released on CD only in New Zealand by the Dead C’s Bruce Russel’s label Corpus Hermeticum. New Liner notes by Bruce Russel too. “A 1995 release from the famed Sonic Youth guitarist, this recording sees him paired with free jazz drummer Tom Surgal for a blistering noise set, in keeping with New Zealand noise label Corpus Hermeticum’s aesthetic. The listener should not expect the sweet psychedelic pop of his Psychic Hearts album of the same year; rather, Moore explores his interest in freeform improvisation on this live set recorded in 1994. The recording is lo-fi, but that adds to it’s candid charm, as his guitar thrashing reaches peaks of noise only hinted at in early Sonic Youth. The duo works along lines that are more akin to the Blue Humans — with whom drummer Surgal began — and also seems influenced by such underground acts as Fushitsusha and the Dead C. Moore’s guitar is so distinct, however, that many parts here could be mistaken for a live Sonic Youth recording from that band’s more heady and chaotic ’80s period”

The second Digital single to be released from the much anticipated and final studio album ‘Orkestra Digitalis’ by Future Pilot AKA , the brainchild of bassist Sushil K Dade. ‘The Art of Good Breathing’ features lead vocals by Emma Pollock (Delgados/ Chemikal Underground) and harmonies/backing vocals by Ron Sexsmith. The vocals were recorded in true ‘guerilla’ style in a few hours at a session fuelled by caffeine, at a studio built on the site of the former Headquarters of the Lipton Tea Company in Glasgow’s Southside, on a sound desk built by sonic legend Rupert Neve. Dade’s previous recordings have featured contributions from a range of artists including Philip Glass, Damo Suzuki, Mikey Dread, The Pastels, The Go-Betweens and the new album will feature contributions from Robert Wyatt, Mulatu Astatke, R M Hubbert, Leo Abrahams, Craig Armstrong and this single featuring Emma Pollock/Ron Sexsmith.

The Master tracks from the album were hidden in the elements (shorelines/ hills/ windfarms/ islands and lochs) as part of a #soniktreasurehunt and will all appear on the album ‘Orkestra Digitalis’. The first single was ‘Tutti Shruti’ featuring Robert Wyatt, received support from DJ’s Gideon Coe, Lauren Laverne, Steve Lamacq, Mary Anne Hobbs, Vic Galloway & Shaun Keavney.

Image may contain: one or more people and text

The Vaselines formed in Glasgow, Scotland in 1986. Following the release of two EPs, Son of a Gun and Dying for It, and the first and only full-length album, Dum-Dum, in 1989, the band split up. Kurt Cobain of Nirvana was a big fan of the band, and covered three of their songs: “Molly’s Lips”, “Son of a Gun” and “Jesus Wants Me for a Sunbeam”. He also named his daughter after McKee.

Following a post-Vaselines break, she began making music with Vaselines bass player James Seenan, writing material of a more-mellow flavour. These songs were released under the name Suckle, initially coming out on 4AD Records offshoot Detox Artefacts. This coincided with a John Peel session.

Against Nurture, the only Suckle long player, was released in 2000 on Chemikal Underground.

On 10th April 2006, Frances McKee released her first solo album, “Sunny Moon”.

In the summer of 2006, Frances McKee and Eugene Kelly took to the stage together for the first time since 1990, to perform a set of The Vaselines songs, as part of a joint tour to promote their individual solo albums. This led to The Vaselines reforming on 24 April 2008 for a charity show for the Malawi Orphan Support group at Glasgow’s MONO venue.


Since 2008, The Vaselines have continued to perform around the world, with members of Belle & Sebastian supporting their live set. On 5th May 2009, Sub Pop released Enter the Vaselines. A deluxe-edition reissue of the 1992 Sub Pop release, it includes remastered versions of the band’s two EPs, album, as well as demos and live recordings from 1986 and 1988.

The Vaseline’s most recent album, V for Vaselines, was self-released in 2014 on the band’s own label, Rosary Music, in order to maintain creative control.