Posts Tagged ‘D.C.’

Out September 21st, “Tell No One” is the debut full-length by Washington, D.C.’s Bad Moves. It’s a perfect power-pop album — alternately explosive and vulnerable, loud and tender. Recorded with Hop Along’s Joe Reinhart, it’s an album about secrecy — it’s anxiety and weight. The songs are meant to tell a story about how self-discovery works when you’re a kid and how those experiences, revelations, and regrets ripple into adult life. Bad Moves are Emma Cleveland, David Combs, Katie Park, and Daoud Tyler-Ameen.
released September 21, 2018

Out September 21st, Tell No One is the debut full-length by Washington, D.C.’s Bad Moves, recorded at Philadelphia’s Headroom Studio by Joe Reinhart (Hop Along). Sharpening the themes of the band’s 2016 self-titled EP, Tell No One is a power pop album whose 12 songs balance brashness and vulnerability, volume and tenderness. Collectively, the songs tell a story about self-discovery in childhood: exploring how intense emotional moments often arrive before we’re old enough to understand them, and how those regrets and revelations ripple into adult life.


Releases September 19th, 2018

Emma Cleveland,
David Combs,
Katie Park,
Daoud Tyler-Ameen,


Since the release of their first single three years ago, the Washington D.C.-based three-piece Governess have become a bit more mellow, adding dreamy power pop to the mix. Bassist Kieca Mahoney, drummer Erin McCarley, and guitarist Kim Weeks all contribute vocals, which frequently blend together in beautiful, haunting harmonies à la Grass Widow. But their shoegazey guitar melodies and sweet-sounding voices often betray the stories behind the songs—see the despairing “Decay,” filled with images of hopelessness. If there is a theme to Zero, released via Sister Polygon Records, it is frustration with the inanity and difficulty of life. “This life is panic / We’re sinking in dark water,” McCarley sings on “Gaslit.” On “Space Garbage,” a droney, atmospheric track, the trio contemplate our existence on Earth as the floating trash of the galaxy. Governess may find existence exhausting, but Zero helps sweeten the here and now.


New album ZERO
out now on Sister Polygon Records


D.C. foursome Priests have followed up 2017’s Nothing Feels Natural with a special treat for superfans: three new versions of “Suck,” a saxophone-laced lament about someone who, well, sucks. “How can you tell that I always mean to be mean when you’re not even listening?” reads one tell-tale line from the song. The band noted on Instagram that they originally wanted this six-and-a-half minute version of the song to close out the record, instead of the four-plus-minute version that ended up there. This extended play is a definitively funkier mix. But the real treat here is basically a wholly new song: “Suck” as remixed by Meg Remy of U.S. Girls. Remy slows down the whole track, giving it a chopped-and-screwed makeover. Katie Alice Greer’s vocals are several pitches lower, accented by a funky horn riff and a repetitive, hypnotic dance beat. It’s a perfect offering for late-night summer dance parties.


Released May 5th, 2018

Let’s start out by saying, Jake Starr and The Delicious Fullness play the kind of tunes that I could play all day long. It’s the rock ‘n’ roll that I grew up on, some MOD , some garage, and a whole lot of rock ‘n’ roll fun. What I do care about is finding Bands that are in the game for the right reasons. I am not here to break down the structure of the songs nor to analyze the lyrics , Rock ‘n’ Roll is meant to be fun , you are supposed to be able to put on a Record and blast the shit out of it, dance like a crazy person and get lost in the coolness of the beat and that indeed happens when you play Jake Starr and The Delicious Fullness. I would like to say thank you to Hidden Volume Records for turning me on to Jake Starr and The Delicious Fullness, and that is just one more reason for all you garage rockers to show some love .


Nathaniel Osgood: drums, all instruments on “Hong Kong Phooey”
Louie Newmyer: bass, harpsichord on “By the Grace of Mod”
Kathleen Wilson: guitar, backing vox, Farfisa organ
Sean Crowley: guitar, backing vox, lead vox on “Learnin’ to Howl” and “Ognir’s…”
Jake Starr: throat, tambourine, maracas

The first album to completely blow me away in 2017 was Priests’ “Nothing Feels Natural” . I’ve been waiting for a new release from Priests! for awile after a couple of EP’s, But I Love this record and what this group is all about The first 3 tracks are simply perfect : so musically subversive, great.

The Washington D.C. punk outfit can give you an accessible hint of balladry on the album’s title track, but come for blood on the Dick Dale-like twang of “Jj.” Singer Katie Alice Greer might as well be standing at the podium when we damn all the bullshit society constructs to hell, with pianos and horns backing her every decree. Much like some of their contemporaries they blend a combination of old Post Punk and newer influences to create a sound that stands out. Priest’s are a powerful and necessary band

Priests – Nothing Feels Natural, bandcamp:


01. Appropriate 0:00
02. JJ 5:13
03. Nicki 8:13
04. Lelia 20 11:54
05. No Big Bang 15:05
06. – 17:55
07. Nothing Feels Natural 19:11
08. Pink White House 23:11
09. Puff 27:19
10 Stuck 29:11

Follow them:

Among the most blogged new band is this punk band from Washington DC who also run the label Sister Polygon (Downtown Boys, Snail Mail). The title track to their debut LP is “a bracing anthem about the struggle to realize yourself against seemingly irresistible forces”

If any band has understood this in recent years, it’s Priests born and bred in Washington, D.C., operating under the notion that nothing about American systems or society is natural.

Nothing Feels Natural, the band’s first proper album after a couple of tapes, a 7″ single and 2014’s Bodies And Control And Money And Power EP, isn’t a direct response to the state of the nation so much as a state of mind. For Priests, the personal has always been political; the band recognizes that the self is fluid, and that how we interact with each other is just as vital as how we confront the world. That’s why Nothing Feels Natural, in 10 tracks that embody the spirit of punk — while fully embracing the R&B, pop and experimental layers that course through the band’s discography presents itself as a broken and abstract view of what it means to live in a broken and abstract society.

The album represents a step forward for Priests. It’s the band’s most stylistically diverse work, expanding on their lo-fi post-punk bona-fides with ideas drawn from pop, R&B, and industrial noise. Thematically, Nothing can be understood as a series of vignettes — nine stories that crystallize into a bigger picture about the economics of human relationships, the invisibility of feminized labor, and the theoretical dual purpose of art for the group and the individual. The album will be the first full-length LP released on Sister Polygon Records, the label that the band operates cooperatively.


But Nothing Feels Natural moves beyond the trappings of an album that speaks to a specific time: It wants to keep speaking with us.

band members, Daniele Daniele drums, Katie Alice Greer vocals, G.L. Jaguar guitar, Taylor Mulitz bass