Posts Tagged ‘Cooking Vinyl Records’

Buy Online The Waterboys - Good Luck, Seeker Splatter + 12

The Waterboys, one of the most creative, loved and literate bands of the last four decades, return this summer with their 14th studio album “Good Luck, Seeker” – coming just over one year after the release of the critically acclaimed album ‘Where The Action Is’.  The first track to go live is the seven-minute mash-up manifesto ‘My Wanderings In The Weary Land’.
Is it psychedelic soul? Is it trance? Is it punk? Whatever it is, it’s the first taste of Good Luck, Seeker, which will be released on August 21st via Cooking Vinyl.

‘My Wanderings in the Weary Land’ is taken from the brand new album ‘Good Luck, Seeker’

Image may contain: one or more people, text that says 'Made of Rain The new new studio album, out now.'

A new release date has been announced for The Psychedelic Furs’ long-awaited comeback album, “Made Of Rain”. It is now scheduled to come out on July 31st via Cooking Vinyl. The Psychedelic Furs have been in the cultural lexicon for almost longer than some of us actual adults have been alive—their songs have held cinematic stock in classics like “Pretty in Pink” and The Wedding Singer (as well as a more recent classic, Call Me By Your Name), and been featured in cherished TV shows like Gilmore Girls and Stranger Things. Now the post-punk band will add to their storied legacy by releasing their first new album in almost three decades,

In the meantime you here another track from it, “No-One”, below: Along with previous singles “Don’t Believe” and “You’ll Be Mine”, “No-One” can be streamed and downloaded immediately when you preorder the album. No-One is taken from the new album ‘Made of Rain’ . The Psychedelic Furs return with their first new studio album in almost 30 years. The band’s self-titled debut was released in 1980, while follow-up Talk Talk Talk from ’81 featured the classic ‘Pretty in Pink’, which became a top 20 UK hit in 1986 when it was reissued as a single after appearing on the soundtrack to the John Hughes film of the same name.

Five more studio albums followed, but despite reforming and touring constantly since the turn of the millennium, the Stephen Street-produced World Outside from 1991 was their last studio outing. But all that is about to change with the news that Made of Rain will be released in early May. The 12-track album was produced by Richard Fortus, and mixed by Tim Palmer and includes the songs Don’t Believe, No One , “You’ll Be Mine.

Led by singer Richard Butler and his bassist brother Tim Butler, the Furs have been touring fairly frequently since reuniting two decades ago. Until now, however, they’d never followed up their pre-breakup record, 1991’s World Outside.  The single “Alive (For Once in My Lifetime)” was included on 2001’s Beautiful Chaos: Greatest Hits Live, but that was the last piece of new music we’d heard from the band.

The album will be available on CD and double vinyl with a special 2LP coloured/splatter vinyl edition available via the band’s official store with a SIGNED print (a black 2LP vinyl version is also available if you don’t go in for the coloured option). Produced by Richard Fortus (formerly of the Butlers’ mid-’90s band Love Spit Love, currently playing in Guns N’ Roses) and mixed by Tim Palmer (Pearl Jam, Robert Plant), Made of Rain was made with Psychedelic Furs’ current touring line-up. In addition to the Butler brothers, that includes saxophonist Mars Williams, drummer Paul Garisto, keyboardist Amanda Kramer, and guitarist Rich Good.

The band will also play a special show at London’s Royal Albert Hall on 14th May and the store offers special pre-sale access two days before the general sale. Made of Rain will be released on 1st May 2020.

If “Don’t Believe” is at all representative of Made of Rain, expect a slightly more bitter Furs than you might be used to. Or perhaps they always have had that bite, and it’s just taking firmer hold with this tight, modern production. Classic sax notes follow the guitar’s breathing melody, trudging with lowered shoulder against the psychedelic swirl of the track. It all bursts free on the hook, as Richard Butler and a chorus of voices call out, “I don’t believe/ I don’t believe you/ Don’t believe me.”

The Psychedelic Furs are: Richard Butler (vocals), Tim Butler (bass), Mars Williams (saxophone), Paul Garisto (drums), Amanda Kramer (keyboards) and Rich Good (guitar).

‘Arguably their strongest since Forever Now’ – Mojo ‘Well worth the wait’ – Vive Le Rock!

Canadian songwriting legend Ron Sexsmith’s 2020 album “Hermitage”. Producer Don Kerr. Released via Cooking Vinyl Limited. Recorded in Ron’s living room where Ron played all the instruments for the album, with the exception of the drums. “When Love Pans Out” from Ron Sexsmith’s upcoming April 17th album “Hermitage”

Canadian songwriting hero Ron Sexsmith comes back into our lives with a new album on Cooking Vinyl. Ron worked with producer Don Kerr to create this album; the two set up in Ron’s living room to record where Ron played all the instruments for the album, with the exception of the drums. The result is the songwriter’s most self-assured collection, still charmingly subtle yet increasingly full of musical vigor, as onChateau Mermaid an ode to his own Stratford Graceland, or the surprisingly hopefulmall Minded World in which Sexsmith croons, “Oh now don’t feel blue ‘cos they don’t get you, you’ll win this small minded world”. This new zen can be heard from the first moments of Kinks-esque album opener, Spring of the Following Year as the serene sound of birds situate the listener into Sexsmith’s state of grace.

To go along with it, we’ve just got the first single “You Don’t Wanna Hear It.”

Describing the new song, Sexsmith said in a statement, “It’s a song about someone who has their nose all out of joint about something and are not in the mood to hear the truth.”

The Flaming Lips + Deap Vally = DEAP LIPS. Our new single is out now. Listen to ‘Home Thru Hell’ & pre-order the album today.

The Flaming Lips have a long-standing tradition of collaborating with other artists for full albums. Now, Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd have teamed up with Deap Vally’s Lindsey Troy and Julie Edwards to form a new supergroup called Deap Lips. Their new album Deap Lips is out March 13th via Cooking Vinyl.

In the past, the Flaming Lips have shared collaborative albums with Miley Cyrus, Neon Indian, Stardeath & White Dwarf, and a whole slew of “heady fwends.” This year they dropped the new album King’s Mouth and a live orchestral Soft Bulletin album.

The Flaming Lips + Deap Vally = DEAP LIPS. The self-titled album releases March 13th, 2020.