Posts Tagged ‘Beverly’


Brooklyn’s Public Practice burst onto the punk scene last year and subsequently made one of our favorite EPs of 2018, the electric Distance is a Mirror. Public Practice, the band featuring Samantha York and Vince McClelland of Wall as well as Beverly members Drew Citron and Scott Rosenthal, titled Distance is a Mirror and will be out via Wharf Cat Records. (two now defunct Bushwick bands), Public Practice make distorted, intoxicating rock, leading with the promise of a magnetic live show, their very danceable post-punk variant. There’s just a hint of southern swamp rock in there too, and the song zigs, zags and packs in lots of big hooks.

The full EP, “Distance is a Mirror” by Public Practice, Originally released in 2018.

01. Fate/Glory – 00:00 02. Bad Girl(s) – 02:38 03. Foundation – 04:45 04. Into the Ring – 08:26

Beverly the duo of Drew Citron ( The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Frankie Rose) and Scott Rosenthal, latest album, The Blue Swell. they’ve shared a video for the track “South Collins.” Directed and edited by Pitchfork the clip mingles shots of vast woodlands with footage of an eerie bar—which becomes “a wild and progressively sinister party,” according to Citron. Read her description below, and scroll down to watch the video.

I originally wrote the song “South Collins” as a noir film script, the music and lyrics describe a murder at an art deco hotel. One weekend after a friend’s wedding in the Catskills, I came across The Colonial Inn, and it was the perfect setting to film the video. It’s a 150 house replete with 150 years worth of taxidermy and tchotchkes. The place definitely had a surreal and creepy vibe, and the owner Steve was amazing. He has a friendly relationship with a brown bear named Baby, who comes into the hotel occasionally to eat leftovers, much to the dismay of the neighbors and wildlife protection service… Steve was totally down to let me and 20 of my friends take over the hotel for a weekend, and we ended up casting him as the older bartender.
The idea behind the video is that I walk into a hotel, and the sight of me triggers the bartender’s flashbacks to a nightclub singer he met decades before at the same hotel. A wild and progressively sinister party ensues. Years later he is still haunted by it – what happened that night? Director Jim Larson created the perfect look of an eerie “Twin Peaks” Shining-like world, without getting too overtly into ghost stories and the supernatural.

South Collins is from the Beverly album The Blue Swell.



Founded in 2002, We are a Brooklyn/NY based record label. We have releases by: Surfer Blood, Grizzly Bear, Chairlift, Fear of Men, Beverly, Pinact, Flowers, Leave the Planet, Eternal Summers, September Girls, Flowers, Bleeding Rainbow, Beach Day, Splashh, BRAIDS, The Depreciation Guild, Young Prisms, Four Volts and more. 

Kanine Records is an independent record label based in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, New York started at the end of 2002 by Lio and Kay. Their first release, NY: The Next Wave, was a 20 track compilation featuring mostly unsigned and emerging acts from the area. From there, they started to sign local bands and release CD EPs, 12 inch vinyl and eventually full length records. The label continues as an independent and continues to grow due to the continued success of artists like Grizzly Bear, Chairlift and Surfer Blood. Recent and upcoming releases include albums by The Blow, Bleeding Rainbow, Eternal Summers, Beach Day, Fear of Men, Valleys and Splashh.



Brooklyn based Beverly returns with new single “Contact,” a dreamy allegory about deceit and confusion.

In the summer of 2014, Beverly released “Careers,” a breakout debut album that combined raw pop, post-punk and dreamy melodies. Led by vocalist and guitarist Drew Citron, the band toured across the US and Europe supporting the Drums, as well as playing sold out headlines dates in their hometown of New York. The new album takes a bolder turn, with Citron enlisting new collaborators including noise pop producer Scott Rosenthal (The Beets, Crystal Stilts) and Kip Berman (The Pains of Being Pure at Heart). Crooked Cop was the first taste from the upcoming sophomore album out in spring 2016. now a second track Contact is from The Blue Swell out May 6th, 2016.



New York’s best purveyor of dreamy rock ‘n roll is Kanine Records, and they’ve found sonic gold in Beverly. We’re not too surprised, though, as the Brooklyn-based group got their start with local indie rock starlet ex-Vivian Girls’ Frankie Rose behind the mic. Rose collaborated with Drew Citron to produce sun drenched harmonies amongst simple, reverb-friendly riffs, but has since departed the band to give Citron full reign.  Not to worry, though, as Drew now performs alongside Jamie Ingalls (of Chairlift, on drums), Scott Rosenthal (of Class Actress, on bass) and Caitlin Frame. Songs like “You Can’t Get It Right” are the perfectly hypnotizing companion to a late summer’s jaunt on the beach. Or just maybe the remembrance of one.



Urgent yet dreamy, this breathtaking dose of psychedelia mixes ethereal female harmonies, a soaring melody, and surging beats to dazzling effect. Indie-pop duo Beverly is a project comprised of singer/drummer Frankie Rose and Drew Citron of New York pop stylists Avan Lava, the latter of which wrote the songs that make up the project’s debut LP, “Careers” (Rose pitched in on drums and vocal harmonies). So Beverly is less a true duo than a vehicle for Citron’s compositional voice—Rose has since returned her focus to her solo career, and Citron will flesh out Beverly tracks live with the help of an all new band—and the material reflects Citron’s smart choices with respect to genre and style.

Careers Tracklisting
1. Madora 0:00 ,
2. Honey Do 2:35,
3. Planet Birthday 5:43,
4. All The Things 8:55,
5. Yale’s Life 11:53,
6. Ambular 15:06,
7. Out on a Ride 17:24,
8. Hong Kong Hotel 19:35,
9. You Can’t Get It Right 22:27,
10. Black and Grey 25:30,

Begun as a collaboration between former Vivian/Dum Dum Girl Frankie Rose and Drew Citron (a former member of Frankie’s band and NYC act Avan Lava), Beverly has taken on new life in the form of a live band (now fronted by Drew, without Frankie) and is quickly amassing fans. Lush pop harmonies and satisfyingly noisy guitars fill the space of their shoegaze pop songs in just the right way.Featured song: “You Can’t Get It Right”

BEVERLY – ” Honey Do “

Posted: November 13, 2014 in MUSIC
Tags: ,


These guys are more shoegaze than punk, but that’s okay, because I like that too. I was immediately drawn in by frontwoman Drew Citron’s dreamy vocals, but I remained entranced for the whole set by the strength of the band, which includes Chairlift’s Jamie Ingalls on drums, The Beets’ Scott Rosenthal on bass and Caitlin Frame, of Frame, on guitar and synth.


Exceptional Shoegaze pop album from ex DumDum Girl and Vivian Girls vocalist player Frankie Rose project along with ex band mate Drew Citron from Avan Lava, the band based in New York has a wonderful album available “Careers”