Posts Tagged ‘Wild Nothing’

This is a great music video starring Michelle Williams, taken from the third album “Life Of Pause”

Jack Tatum on the cover of Wild Nothing’s Life of Pause, is seen sitting alone in a romantic sitting room setting, staring at apparently nothing. Is this meant to reflect the recording process Jack Tatum records and writes albums alone, for legions of well-read romantics yearning for a hit of nostalgic dream-pop to play in solitude.

With Life of Pause Tatum promised a less mechanical feel to this record than the previous Nocturne, but does he deliver? From the get-go, ‘Reichpop‘ feels far less melancholic than Wild Nothing’s previous work. The bass lines bounce along a sea of bubbly synths reminiscent of Bombay Bicycle Club’s ‘Luna’, but without the spark. ‘Lady Blue‘ is breezy, with a very moreish melodic chorus, but it isn’t long before the album drowns in its own genre. Dream-pop is the word, and Tatum has a more than obvious love for the 80s. Their basic DNA comes directly from a 1987 TV montage, name-checking of Japan as the mecca of futurism; ‘Japanese Alice‘ (Life of Pause’s standout moment) is a track that is very much for fans of the tragically seldom mentioned, Lloyd Cole and The Commotions. ‘TV Queen‘ and ‘To Know You’ (previous singles) threaten greatness, the latter bass-driven and a wash with synthetic alarm sounds (borrowed from Erasure’s ‘Chorus‘) stands out from the monochromatic album tracks but lacks a genuine chorus.

The echo-delayed guitars and dreamy vocals do tend to take their toll. After a while how much dream-pop can one listen to before realising you are in a never ending 80’s themed nightmare? LikeBeach House and The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Wild Nothing create pleasant music electro-pop but are still waiting for that moment to make themselves a band that really matters. Music without risks can become stale. So what do you think Tatum? A collaboration with maybe Shaggy or Andrew WK? Or maybe it’s just all about being pleasant sitting alone in your room.


Wild Nothing’s Third Album coming out in 2016.

Wild Nothing, a.k.a Brooklyn-based musician Jake Tatum, released his debut album ‘Gemini’ in 2010 to critical acclaim. Five years on, with an equally impressive sophomore release and a series of EPs under his belt, Tatum is pleased to announce his third-studio album and self-proclaimed most “mature and honest” work to date, ‘Life of Pause’, which is released via Bella Union. ‘Life of Pause‘ is an exquisitely arranged and beautifully recorded collection of songs that marry the immediate with the indefinable. After a prolonged period of writing and experimentation, recording took place over several weeks in both Los Angeles and Stockholm, with producer Thom Monahan (Devendra Banhart, Beachwood Sparks) helping Tatum in his search for a more natural and organically textured sound. In Sweden, in a studio once owned by ABBA, they enlisted Peter, Bjorn and John drummer John Ericsson and fellow Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra veteran TK, to contribute drums and marimba. In California, at Monahan’s home, Tatum collaborated with Medicine guitarist Brad Laner and a crew of saxophonists. From the hypnotic polyrhythms of ‘Reichpop’ to the sugary howl of ‘Japanese Alice’ to the hallucinogenic R&B of ‘A Woman’s Wisdom’, the result is a complete, fully immersive listening environment.
​LP – Limited first pressing on Silver Vinyl Housed in Gatefold Sleeve With Download.


Baba Naga release the first in a series of three sonic offerings. Double A side EP Somos Lobos / Odmieńce are songs that take you on a journey and pick up on aspects of where the late sixties left off and straight into the future – a different kind of psychedelic. Produced by Ross Orton (Arctic Monkeys/ Drenge/ God Damn) with Artwork by Detroit illustrative artist David Medel.


Coves return with new album ‘Peel’. The band’s second full length, the LP isreleased via the newly re-vamped 1965 Records imprint. Marked by Coves‘ shift from Leamington Spa to London, the record is seemingly “split between fury and misery.” When their touring schedule wound up in March 2015, Beck ran into producer Cam Blackwood (George Ezra, London Grammar). Keen to work with the band, he took the home recordings that Beck and John had made during ‘red wine holidays’ at John’s East London spare room studio to Studio Voltaire in Clapham and honed the pop side until it was as sharp as their psychedelic garage edge. The result was a second album, and cleaner, harder and just as fiery as ever. For fans of The Jesus And Mary Chain, The Raveonettes and Hope Sandoval.

Life of Pause, out February 19th, on Captured Tracks.

Jack Tatum plays most of the instruments as Wild Nothing, but his favourite is playing bass. When you hear a Wild Nothing song, you might not notice it at first, but a pulsating bassline is often bubbling underneath the dreamy haze, propelling the song forward. It’s a trick maybe picked up from New Order and Cocteau Twins, but Tatum also cites the extravagant Philly soul sound of the ’70s as an influence.

That lushness is immediately apparent on Life Of Pause, Tatum’s third album, out February 19th via Captured Tracks . Six years ago, he started Wild Nothing in his bedroom at Virginia Tech, but this time around, Tatum holed up in a few L.A. and Stockholm studios. The title track shows off this newfound high fidelity, packing all sorts of details inside its electro-pop framework. And at the center there’s Tatum’s bass bobbing up and down like a heartbeat.

Wild Nothing: “Life Of Pause”

Early this morning, Jake Tatum (a.k.a. Wild Nothing) revealed the impending release of his third full-length album “Life of Pause”, which is out February 19th on Captured Tracks and is produced by Thom Monahan (Vetiver, Devendra Banhart, Au Revoir Simone).

Beyond gaining the knowledge that 2016 will feature Tatum’s followup to 2012’s “Nocturne”, he gifted the world a single You tube video of two nonconsecutive cuts off of the album. Both tracks—“To Know You” and “TV Queen”—feature Wild Nothing’s signature blend of synths and fuzzed-out guitars within an expansive soundscape.

About Life in Pause, Tatum has promised a new side and sound to Wild Nothing:it’s the band’s first record in nearly four years, and will be a welcomed addition to an already-stellar discography

wild nothing

I’m terrified by the idea of being any one thing, or being of any one genre. And whether or not I accomplish that, I know that my only hope of getting there is to constantly reinvent. That reinvention doesn’t need to be drastic, but every new record has to have it’s own identity, and it has to have a separate set of goals from what came before.

Check out the album’s cover art and track listing below.

Life in Pause track listing

1. Reichpop
2. Lady Blue
3. A Woman’s Wisdom
4. Japanese Alice
5. Life of Pause
6. Alien
7. To Know You
8. Adore
9. TV Queen
10. Whenever I
11. Love Underneath My Thumb

Listen to two new singles from Wild Nothing while taking a walk through the world of the band’s forthcoming album, . Out February 19th

with three members from different bands, Jack Tatum (Wild Nothing), Dustin Payseur (Beach Fossils) and Andreas Lagerstrom ( Holograms)