Posts Tagged ‘Bella Donna’


Rhino released Stevie Nicks‘ first two solo albums as multi-disc deluxe editions in November 2016. Bella Donna (1981) and The Wild Heart (1983)  both feature newly remastered audio and previously unreleased studio and live recordings…

Stevie Nicks herself has been very involved in the reissues: “I’ve had so much fun reliving the making of Bella Donna and The Wild Heart while working on the liner notes and listening to all of the alternate versions and demo takes,” she said. “The liner notes are so much more than liner notes. They are like a little novel. I tried to make whoever reads this feel like they were there. I think…I succeeded….”

Produced by Jimmy Iovine and Tom Petty, Bella Donna was a massive success and features the songs “Edge Of Seventeen”, “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” (with Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers) and “Leather And Lace” (with Don Henley). The 2016 deluxe edition is a three-CD set with the unreleased material (plus two cuts from soundtracks) on disc 2. The third CD focuses on live material.

Back in 1981, Stevie Nicks took a risk and released her first solo album titled Bella Donna. Although the album was a her first work outside of Fleetwood Mac, and many questioned if she could hold her own as a solo artist, the album ended up being well perceived and achieved massive success.

The opening title track of the album, “Bella Donna,” was one of the proudest moments of the album. After a long search, we have dug up, and uncovered an alternative version of the song! This version is more of a studio outtake and demo, but there are some slight differences from the original. The most noticeable difference being, this version is a little more stripped back. It contains less guitars and more synths, therefore you can hear Stevie’s voice a lot clearer. There are other slight differences you may notice throughout the song as well!

“‘Bella Donna’ is a term of endearment I use and the title is about making a lot of decisions in my life, making a change based on the turmoil in my soul. You get to a certain age where you want to slow down, be quieter. The title song was basically a warning to myself and a question to others. I’m thirty-three years old, and my life has been very up and down in the last six years.”– Stevie Nicks, 1981.

The Wild Heart couldn’t quite repeat the chart-topping success of its predecessor, but it still did very well, peaking at number five on the US album chart. The deluxe is a two-CD set and features unreleased versions of All The Beautiful Worlds and Dial The Number amongst the bonus material.

The Bella Donna and The Wild Heart deluxe editions released on 4th November 2016. The remastered albums (without bonus tracks) will be reissued on vinyl too.

Bella Donna deluxe edition

CD 1
1. Bella Donna (Remastered)
2. Kind of Woman (Remastered)
3. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers) [Remastered]
4. Think About It (Remastered)
5. After The Glitter Fades (Remastered)
6. Edge of Seventeen (Remastered)
7. How Still My Love (Remastered)
8. Leather And Lace (Remastered) – Stevie Nicks & Don Henley
9. Outside The Rain (Remastered)
10. The Highwayman (Remastered)

CD 2
1. Edge of Seventeen (Early Take)
2. Think About It (Alternate Version)
3. How Still My Love (Alternate Version)
4. Leather And Lace (Alternate Version)
5. Bella Donna (Demo)
6. Gold And Braid (Unreleased Version)
7. Sleeping Angel (Alternate Version)
8. If You Were My Love (Unreleased Version)
9. The Dealer (Unreleased Version)
10. Blue Lamp (From “Heavy Metal”) [Remastered]
11. Sleeping Angel (From “Fast Times At Ridgemont High”) [Remastered]

CD 3
1. Gold Dust Woman (Live 1982) [Remastered]
2. Gold And Braid (Live 1982) [Remastered]
3. I Need To Know (Live 1982) [Remastered]
4. Outside The Rain (Live 1982) [Remastered]
5. Dreams (Live 1982) [Remastered]
6. Angel (Live 1982)
7. After The Glitter Fades (Live 1982) [Remastered]
8. Leather And Lace (Live 1982)
9. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (Live 1982) [Remastered]
10. Bella Donna (Live 1982)
11. Sara (Live 1982) [Remastered]
12. How Still My Love (Live)
13. Edge Of Seventeen (Live 1982) [Remastered]
14. Rhiannon (Live 1982) [Remastered]

Caught On Tape: Fleetwood Mac Hit The Studio, And Their “Gypsy” Demo Is Unbelievable | Society Of Rock Videos

Fleetwood Mac are one of the only bands whose rarities and outtakes are good enough to make us wish they’d included them on each albums, This rare demo version of ‘Gypsy’ is absolutely beautiful; instead of a full band behind Stevie Nicks, she’s accompanied by only an electric keyboard playing softly in the background, giving ‘Gypsy’ an ethereal, almost dreamlike feel to it.

There are two points of inspiration behind ‘Gypsy’, as stated by Stevie Nicks. The first of which is a point of nostalgia for Nicks: her life before Fleetwood Mac, and the second being a tribute to someone’s passing.

Stevie Nicks wrote this as a tribute to her friend Robin who at the time wa dying from leukemia.

This demo of ‘Gypsy’ is one that very well could have stood on its own as a track on the album, or even as a B-side. Especially knowing that it’s about a dear friend of Stevie’s, the ethereal factor would have definitely worked as opposed to something a little more upbeat. In any event, ‘Gypsy’ still remains one of our favorite Fleetwood Mac songs, in any of its forms!

Stevie Nicks wrote the song originally around. 1979, and the earliest demo recordings were recorded in early 1980 with Tom Moncrieff for possible inclusion on her solo debut “Bella Donna”.  However, when Nicks’ friend Robin Anderson died of  leukemia, the song took on a new significance and Nicks held it over for Fleetwood Mac. “Gypsy” was the second single release and second biggest hit from the “Mirage” album,

The video for this song was the highest-budget music video ever produced at the time. It used several locations including a highly detailed portrayal of a forest, and required many costumes and dancers.

Stevie Nicks especially remembers the experience as unpleasant. Two weeks beforehand, she had gone into rehab to attempt to end her cocaine addiction. However, the video shoot could not be rescheduled, and she had to take a break for it. Near the end of the first of three days, she was exhausted and said she wanted some cocaine. A small bottle that was discreetly brought to her was later thrown out before she could use any.

Those issues were further strained by having to work closely with former boyfriend, Lindsay Buckingham. “We weren’t getting along well then. I didn’t want to be anywhere near him; I certainly didn’t want to be in his arms,” she says of the scene where the two are dancing. “If you watch the video, you’ll see I wasn’t happy. And he wasn’t a very good dancer.

On March 25, 2009 during a show in Montreal on Fleetwood Mac’s Unleashed Tour, Stevie Nicks gave a short history of the inspiration behind Gypsy. She explained it was written sometime in 1978-79, when the band had become “very famous, very fast,” and it was a song that brought her back to an earlier time, to an apartment in San Francisco where she had taken the mattress off her bed and put it on the floor. To contextualize, she voiced the lyrics: “So I’m back, to the velvet underground. Back to the floor, that I love. To a room with some lace and paper flowers. Back to the gypsy that I was.” Those are the words: ‘So I’m back to the velvet underground’—which is a clothing store in downtown San Francisco, where Janis Joplin got her clothes, and Grace Slick from Jefferson Airplane. It was this little hole in the wall, amazing, beautiful stuff—’back to the floor that I love, to a room with some lace and paper flowers, back to the gypsy that I was.'”