Posts Tagged ‘The Cribs’

Image may contain: 3 people

The Wakefield indie favourites return with their first album in over three years.

The Cribs are back and on blistering form, brandishing their brand new eighth album, “Night Network”. The self-produced 12-track album was recorded at the Foo Fighters Studio 606 in Los Angeles in the spring / summer of 2019.Night Network is as fresh, cathartic and vital as anything they’ve ever put out. There’s no weariness, no bitterness, just a clear desire to get back to doing what they do best – that unique blend of bittersweet melody, brutal lyrical honesty and riffs for days.

It’s wall-to-wall Cribs bangers, the fruit of that special, symbiotic relationship between the song writing, singing brothers, drawing on the boiled-down influences they felt had always been there: The Motown stomp of Never Thought I’d Feel Again and Under The Bus Station Clock, red and blue album-era Beatles (Running Into You and In The Neon Night, respectively), melodic 70’s style pop on Deep Infatuation, and even early work by their own band.

The Cribs feat. Lee Ranaldo “Be Safe” lockdown live session June 8th 2020

The Cribs are romantics and they’re realists, and the balance, for a hot minute, nearly tipped in the favour of the latter. But now they return empowered, beholden to no one, on the greatest form and still screaming in suburbia. Following a slew of legal battles, The Cribs nearly called it quits in the time between their last album in 2017. They found an unlikely friend in Dave Grohl who encouraged them to continue as a band and invited them to record the album at his LA studio. Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo makes it two appearances on a Cribs album with a slew of distorted riffs on the track ‘I Don’t Know Who I Am’.

The Cribs have been out of the game for some time  – no fault of their own as they were bogged down in legal battles. What it does mean is that they’ve had time to refresh and to write a whole batch of new songs. They’ve recorded them at Foo Fighters studio and with Lee Ranaldo of Sonic Youth guesting on a few tracks. A welcome return for this much loved band.

Image may contain: 3 people, people on stage, crowd, concert and night

The Cribs have reunited with Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo, virtually, to record a lockdown version of their collaboration “Be Safe” which was originally on 2007’s Men’s Needs, Women’s Needs, Whatever. Say The Cribs: “Got the old band back together (despite being separated by thousands of miles!) for a fashionably late isolation video, our first ‘live’ performance in almost 2 years! Feel like the title of the song is quite pertinent at the minute, and hope you’re all looking out for each other.” Love, The Cribs

For the video, Ranaldo filmed himself in a very Sonic Youth-y looking location, while drummer Ross Jarman is joined by his kid on a second kit.

Lee Ranaldo and the rest of Sonic Youth have been digging through their archives and sharing rarities and more via Bandcamp.
The Cribs and Lee Ranaldo played “Be Safe” live together at Pop Montreal 2015.

Screen shot 2017 04 12 at 22.36.01

Portland, OR’s Eyelids (current and ex-members of Guided By Voices, The Decemberists, Malkmus/Jicks) have collaborated with Gary Jarman of The Cribs to make two rare and unforgettable record store exclusive tracks! Turning in what might be world’s shortest concept album– the 2 songs were written with a fictitious 17-year old in mind and his submissions to all things of flight. With Gary singing lead vocals on both songs the single conjures up jealous hazes of Wire & Pere Ubu. An amazing collaboration made exclusively for UK Record Store day. Be sure to catch Eyelids on their UK tour with Drive By Truckers in 2017.

RSD 2017 UK exclusive. Features Gary Jarman from The Cribs on vocals. Eyelids includes members of the Decemberists & Guided By Voices. This one time pressing will be on yellow vinyl (download included) and is limited to 500 copies. All tracks exclusive to this release.

SIDE A (Go On) The First Flight / 3:54 SIDE B We Will Not Apologize / 0:56

Image may contain: text

Taken from the new album ‘For All My Sisters’ released March 23rd.‘Burning For No One’ was recorded last Autumn at New York’s Magic Shop Studio under the guidance of producer and former Cars frontman Ric Ocasek. The track will be available to buy as a digital download and limited edition 7-inch single, along with B-side ‘I See Your Pictures Every Day’. The Cribs’ Ryan Jarman revealed that ‘For All Our Sisters’ will be the group’s most pop-focused release since 2007’s ‘Men’s Needs, Women’s Needs, Whatever’.
“When we did ‘In The Belly Of The Brazen Bull’, we used that as a chance to get the more abrasive songs out,” he said. “With this one we fancied having that contrast of going back to where we concentrate on the melodies.” The Band are on tour in the UK beginning next week.


11 Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
12 London, Electric Ballroom
14 Portsmouth, Wedgewood Rooms
15 Bristol, The Fleece
17 Birmingham, Oobleck
20 Glasgow, King Tuts Wah Wah Hut
21 Tyneside, 6 Music Festival
22 Sheffield, Leadmill
25 Manchester, The Ritz