Posts Tagged ‘Everybody’s Dying To Meet You’

There’s something great about a three-piece – think The Cocteau Twins, The Clean, Galaxie 500 – and the way that irreducible nucleus takes its strength from its limitations, making a virtue of its purity. So it is with London trio Flowers, returning with their second album “Everybody’s Dying To Meet You”. Over the course of ten intensely thrilling pop songs, singer Rachel Kenedy’s ethereal vocals and Sam Ayres textured guitar are backed by the powerful, metronomic beat of drummer Jordan Hockley.

For Everybody’s Dying to Meet You the band retreated to Bark Studios in Walthamstow to work with producer Brian O’Shaughnessey (The Clientele, Primal Scream, My Bloody Valentine), a return home for Sam, who was born and spent most of his life in the area. It proved to be the perfect fit for Flowers, the sessions enabling them to capture the essence of both their dynamic live sound and their distortion-laden home demos. Effortlessly blending pop songs with noise while leaving space for more stripped back elements, the recordings strike a perfect balance between the sweetness of Rachel’s voice and Sam’s abrasive guitar stylings. Their musical inspirations, from shoegaze, C86 and New Zealand’s Flying Nun label, are now evident.

Armed with a youthful intensity and determination that shows in their songs, Flowers have succeeded in harnessing their singular magic. Exuberant and electrifying, Everybody’s Dying To Meet You crackles with confidence.

Flowers are heading to a rock venue near you soon.

25 February – MANCHESTER – Fallow Café
26 February – COVENTRY – Kasbah
27 February – LIVERPOOL – Leaf Tea Shop
28 February – GLASGOW – Broadcast
02 March – NOTTINGHAM – Rough Trade
03 March – READING – Oakford Social Club
04 March – CARDIFF – The Moon Club
05 March – PENRYN – Stuart Stephens Memorial Hall
11 March – LONDON – Sebright Arms
09 April – LEICESTER – Leicester Indiepop Alldayer

London-based trio Flowers have been making a name for themselves on the indie pop scene for the past four years. Debut single ‘Cut And Run’ came out on the Bleeding Gold label in 2012, and shortly afterwards the band signed to established independent Fortuna Pop! Their first LP, the Bernard Butler produced Do What You Want To, It’s What You Should Do followed suit in September 2014, and last month they released the follow-up Everybody’s Dying To Meet You. This time with Brian O’Shaughnessy at the helm, whose previous works include Primal Scream’s Screamadelica and My Bloody Valentine’s ‘You Made Me Realise’ among a host of others. It’s a much more direct record than its predecessor that’s quite representative of the band’s live sound, and as a result dispels any notion anyone might have had that Flowers are mere C86 revivalists.

The trio – Rachel Kenedy (vocals & bass), Sam Ayres (guitar) and Jordan Hockley (drums) – who played an in-store show at Nottingham’s Rough Trade.

The album Everybody’s Dying to Meet You is out now on Fortuna Pop!.

When we caught Flowers in Cake Shop’s basement at 2014’s CMJ Music Marathon, we were struck both by the delicate nature of the three-piece band’s sound, as well as how strongly it commanded the audience’s attention. “Intrusive Thoughts,” a deep cut on the band’s latest record, Everybody’s Dying To Meet You, captures this well. It starts with Rachel Kenedy’s hushed vocals and an undistorted guitar, building momentum to a powerful crescendo by the track’s end. Everybody’s Dying To Meet You is out today on Kanine; you can stream the entire record on Soundcloud.


Though debut album Do What You Want To, It’s What You Should Do pleased, for personal tastes, it lacked a certain spark to fulfil its obvious potential. It was an encounter though, which certainly ensured its creators Flowers lured strong and lingering attention. Now the UK trio return with successor Everybody’s Dying To Meet You, a rousing slice of noise infused indie pop that enchants as it enthrals; a release rattling the cage of expectations and all overworked pop offerings around it.

Flowers began in 2012 after vocalist Rachel Kenedy met guitarist Sam Ayres through an advert wanting band mates to help create pop songs which were like “early Madonna through a broken tape machine”. From there a romantic and creative union ensued between them, with drummer Jordan Hockley coming in to complete the band’s line-up. With their first batch of tracks refined by Bernard Butler, debut album Do What You Want To, It’s What You Should Do emerged in 2013 to potent responses and support. It drew keen interest which is surely now set to ignite louder acclaim with Everybody’s Dying To Meet You. Everything about the release, from songwriting and sound to inventive tone has blossomed from its predecessor, emerging an eighties seeded but uniquely current kiss of tenacious indie pop.

Recorded with producer Brian O’Shaughnessey (The Clientele, Primal Scream, My Bloody Valentine), the album opens with Pull My Arm. A slim jangle of guitar with glimpses of ska revelry makes the first contact, strolling beefy rhythms soon joining it before the lively ethereal tone of Kenedy lays evocatively over the dynamically catchy sounds now in full flow. Thoughts are sparked of bands like Mo-dettes and Girls At Their Best by the track, ripe spices adding to its boisterous charm and rousing adventure.