Posts Tagged ‘The Divine Comedy’

Image may contain: 7 people, people sitting, shoes, table and indoor

The Divine Comedy, the orchestral-pop project of Northern Irish singer/songwriter/composer Neil Hannon, has released a new album, “Office Politics”, friday . Only two singles were shared prior to the album’s release and they are not even the most interesting songs on Office Politics, It was very hard to pick a favorite, but we’ve settled on “Philip and Steve’s Furniture Removal Company.” The song imagines a theme for a sitcom about a young Philip Glass and Steve Reich in New York City in the early 1960s, with the iconic minimalist composers running a furniture moving business. It starts with an intro seemingly recorded on Hannon’s phone when he was out and about somewhere, before building to a section that could be considered a musical homage to the composers and then culminating with a male choir.

Previously Hannon shared Office Politics‘ first single, “Queuejumper.” Then this week he shared a video for “Norman and Norma,” the album’s second single (the audio for which was shared last month). The song is about the challenges of keeping the marriage spark alive as you get older and the black & white video illustrated the lyrics while also featuring images of Hannon performing the song on the piano.

The Divine ComedyNorman and Norma (Official Video) Taken from the album Office Politics Out 7th June

Office Politics is the twelfth Divine Comedy album and the follow-up to 2016’s Foreverland. It’s billed as a double album. The deluxe edition includes Hannon’s original piano demos from the stage adaptation of Swallows and Amazons.

We are pleased to announce that ‘Loose Canon – Live In Europe 2016-2017′ will be available internationally on CD, digital download and to stream from Friday 16th February!. Following the success of their ‘Foreverland’ album and tour, The Divine Comedy release a 17 track live album. Recorded at various dates over the band’s 16/17 European tour, the album contains both standout tracks from ‘Foreverland’, classic songs from Neil Hannon’s extensive catalogue and hits such as ‘National Express’ and ‘Something For the Weekend’. This is a fabulous memento of the ‘Foreverland’ tour for longstanding Divine Comedy fans and newcomers alike. The ‘Foreverland’ tour was attended by over 100,000 people in the UK and Europe. Some quotes from live reviews include: “The Divine Comedy remain a life-affirming joy”. “He makes you laugh, but what lifts the comedy towards the divine is the fact that he also makes you think.” . “Bittersweet ambiguity, where irony meets sincerity and levity shades into melancholy”

Loose Canon was recorded during the band’s 2016/2017 ‘Foreverland’ tour and originally sold through our Merch stand and online store. The good news is that we’ve widened our distribution to all good record emporiums, so if you missed out on adding this collection of electrifying performances to your collection – grab one while you can! This CD is a limited run and will not be reissued.

Here is the track listing to whet your aural appetite –
1. How Can You Leave Me On My Own
2. Napoleon Complex
3. Catherine The Great
4. Bad Ambassador
5. To The Rescue
6. The Complete Banker
7. Bang Goes The Knighthood
8. Generation Sex
9. Our Mutual Friend
10. Funny Peculiar
11. A Lady Of A Certain Age
12. At The Indie Disco
13. I Like
14. National Express
15. Assume The Perpendicular
16. A Drinking Song
17. Tonight We FlyWith digital downloads, streaming and CDs there is more than one way to experience The Divine Comedy on stage! Have a night in and let us provide the soundtrack.