Posts Tagged ‘Mon Amie Records’

New Order Jon Hopkins Anna Calvi More Contribute to New Alzheimers Benefit Album
A whole lot of great artists have contributed exclusive tracks to this new compilation that benefits Alzheimer’s research. Comps like this are by nature hit and miss, but this one has lots of hits. Among them: New Order resuscitate the ’80s “extended mix” for a nine-minute version of “Nothing But a Fool,” the best song on Music Complete; new Mute signing HAAi’s spooky, throbbing, sultry “Drumting”; Astronauts, Etc.‘s deep shag bachelor pad track “The Border” (shades of Air); and smoldering garage number “Friday the 13th” from Wolfmanhattan Project (aka Gories’ Mick Collins, Kid Congo Powers and Sonic Youth’s Bob Bert).

There’s also Hayden Thorpe & Jon Hopkins‘ haunting cover of “Goodbye Horses” by enigmatic cult artist Q-Lazzarus, a song that Jonathan Demme used first in Married to the Mob and then again, to much more memorable effect, in Silence of the Lambs. This cover was originally released in 2013 on the b-side of a repress of Q-Lazzarus’ original, but hasn’t been available for five years. With used copies going for big bucks on Discogs, it’s reason enough to pick this up. There’s also tracks from Moby (an Eno-esque instrumental, very nice), Beach Slang (a nice if wrote cover of The Church’s “Under the Milky Way“), TR/ST, Anna Calvi, Daniel Avery, and more.

The Longest Day is a very personal project. Mona Dehghan, who runs Mon Amie Records, lost her grandmother to Alzheimer’s in 1998 and her father was diagnosed with dementia last year. The artwork and photography is by Brookyn Vegan contributor Ebru Yildiz who documented her mother’s journey with Alzheimer’s.

Those who preorder by July 7th will have the option to include a tribute name in the liner notes to honour a loved one affected by dementia. In any case, it’s not on streaming services, so pick this one up and support Alzheimer’s research.

Various Artists – The Longest Day – A Benefit for the Alzheimer’s Association(Mon Amie Records)
Anna Calvi – Adélaïde
Rituals of Mine – The Only Way Out Is Through
Daniel Avery – JXJ
Cold Specks – Turn To Stone
TR/ST – Destroyer
Shadowparty – Marigold
Beach Slang – Under the Milky Way
New Order – Nothing But A Fool (Extended Mix 2)
HAAi – Drumting
J. Laser – Dreamphone
Sad13 – Who Goes There
Algiers – There Is No Year (Remix)
Astronauts, Etc. – The Border
Wolfmanhattan Project – Friday the 13th
Hayden Thorpe & Jon Hopkins – Goodbye Horses
Moby – In Between Violence
Rhys Chatham – For Bob – In Memory (2014) for Flute Orchestra

A download will be emailed on June 19th, and the physical albums will be shipped by October 1st, 2020.