Posts Tagged ‘Bleachers’

Image may contain: text that says 'BLEACHERS CHINATOWN OUT NOW'

Jack Antonoff has stayed busy since his last record as Bleachers, 2017’s Gone Now. He formed a new project called Red Hearse alongside Sam Dew and Sounwave and produced albums such as Lana Del Rey’s Norman Fucking Rockwell! and the Chicks’ Gaslighter. His most fruitful creative partnership continues to be with long time collaborator Taylor Swift—they collaborated on 2019’s Lover and 2020’s folklore and evermore. Recently, Antonoff shared two tracks that foreshadow an upcoming third Bleachers album, “45” and “chinatown,” which features none other than New Jersey hero Bruce Springsteen.

Joined by Bruce Springsteen for ‘Chinatown’, Jack Antonoff said in a statement, “I go to Electric Lady every day to work. I sit on the roof for hours and hours. Probably spent more time on that roof this year than my bed. Kept imagining the band up there on all the different levels playing on 8th street with everything patched into the console of studio D. Was the first time we played these songs and the first time we played together since the pandemic. Was like a dream.”

Guitar and Keys – Mikey Freedom Hart Keys – Sean Hutchinson Percussion and Bells – Mike Riddleberger Sax and Keys – Evan Smith Sax and Keys – Zem Audu Sax – Anna Webber

Back in 2010, Jack Antonoff released Terrible Thrills, a compilation collecting re-imagined versions of his songs to be released on a standalone album. In its first incarnation, the compilation featured music from artists like Tegan and Sara, Scarlett Johansson, and Angel Deradoorian. The LP was soon followed by Terrible Thrills, Vol. 2 in 2015, which included reworks from Sia, Tinashe, Carly Rae Jepsen, Charli XCX, and more. Now, Antonoff has quietly announced Terrible Thrills, Vol. 3, a new collection in the series featuring songs from Bleachers’ latest album Gone Now reimagined by artists like Mitski, Julien Baker, Muna, and Ani DiFranco.

The third volume in the series arrives in in the form of four 7″ vinyl records, pairing each reimagining with a separate Bleachers rarity not included on the original album. The vinyl-exclusive collection finds Mitski performing “Let’s Get Married,” Baker taking on “Everybody Lost Somebody,” DiFranco reworking “Foreign Girls,” and Muna covering “All My Heroes.”

Terrible Thrills, Vol. 3 is currently available for order on the Bleachers’ website, where it will “only be sold this one time as a whole series.” Fans will receive the first 7″ record in early 2019, with the remaining releases to ship out each month thereafter.

Bleachers’ have a New Album ‘Gone Now’ Available now!

Jack Antonoff and Bruce Springsteen

Bleachers have returned with fellow New Jerseyan Bruce Springsteen for the new single “Chinatown.” and another new songs called “45.” listen to both songs and find the video for “Chinatown,” directed by Carlotta Kohl. In a press release, Bleachers’ Jack Antonoff gave the following statement on his new tracks: 

“Chinatown” starts in NYC and travels to New Jersey. that pull back to the place i am from mixed with terror of falling in love again. having to show your cards to someone and the shock when you see them for yourself. thinking you know yourself and where you are from…. having to see yourself through somebody who you want to stay… I started to write this song with these ideas ringing in my head. to further understand who you are pushes you to further understand where you are from and what that looks and sounds like. there are pieces in that that are worth carrying forever and pieces worth letting die. “Chinatown” and “45” are both the story of this—“Chinatown” through someone else, “45” through the mirror. as for Bruce, it’s the honour of a lifetime to be joined by him. he is the artist who showed me that the sound of the place Ii am from has value and that there is a spirit here that needs to be taken all over the world.

Jack Antonoff’s second album as Bleachers album, “Gone Now”, was released in 2017. He’s kept busy in the years since, producing music for a huge range of artists, including Lana Del Rey, Taylor Swift, FKA twigs, and the Chicks. Last year, he launched a project called Red Hearse with Sam Dew and producer Sounwave. According to the press release, the next Bleachers album is due out in 2021.

Image may contain: 1 person, glasses

Jack Antonoff is the kind of guy that could easily be seen as cool by association – he’s one-third of indie darlings cum chart-crushers fun., as well as longtime partner of Gen Y superstar Lena Dunham. Don’t let this context misconstrue him at all, however: He has absolutely no issue with holding his own. Look at this breakout smash, which sees Antonoff take the reins of a stuttered piano sample, arena-rock guitar and a chock-a-block chorus that almost threatens to cave in on itself before reinforcing its foundations. An anthem for overcoming odds and being the damn best you can be.

Music video by Bleachers performing I Wanna Get Better. (C) 2014 RCA Records,

Jack Antonoff released his first album as Bleachers titled “Strange Desire”, back in July of 2014, but today you can her it like you haven’t before with a new mix available through Google Play.  Following up on a long since abandoned series of companion albums called Terrible Thrills (the first volume of which accompanied his band Steel Train 2010 release, Antonoff has shared his  Terrible Thrills Vol. 2, a collection of remixes, reworks, covers of songs from Strange Desire.

He’s enlisted a pretty substantial cast of guests here including, Sia, Suzanna Hoffs former tourmate Charli XCX, Carly Rae Jepsen, and a whole lot more.

Terrible Thrills Vol. 2 track list:

1. “Wild Heart” (feat. Sara Bareilles)
2. “Rollercoaster” (feat. Charli XCX)
3. “Shadow” (feat. Carly Rae Jepsen)
4. “I Wanna Get Better” (feat. Tinashe)
5. “Wake Me” (feat. Lucius)
6. “Reckless Love” (feat. Elle King)
7. “Take Me Away” (feat. Brooke Candy & Rachel Antonoff)
8. “Like A River Runs” (feat. Sia)
9. “You’re Still A Mystery (feat. MØ)
10. “I’m Ready To Move On/Wild Heart Reprise” (feat. Susanna Hoffs)
11. “Who I Want You To Love” (feat. Natalie Maines)

Bleachers, featuring Lauren Mayberry of Scottish Synth Pop band CHVRCHES perform Fleetwood Mac’s “Go Your Own Way” on VH1’s You Oughta Know Live In Concert event! . The You Oughta Know is a event highlighting new bands to watch out for … Check out other performances by Sam Smith, American Authors, Aloe Blacc, A Great Big World, Kongos, Tove Lo, Mary Lambert, CHVRCHES, Echosmith, and Vance Joy