FLORIST – ” Florist ” Best Albums Of 2022

Posted: January 8, 2023 in MUSIC

Florist is the self-titled fourth full length record from upstate NY based indie folk band, Florist. “Florist” is the follow up to 2019’s critically acclaimed “Emily Alone”, and is the strongest album of the band’s decade-long career; an immersive work that conveys the magic of the earth and of family, and the whole of the band’s heart. For all of June of 2019, amid a hot and rainy summer, Emily Sprague (guitar, synth, vocals), Jonnie Baker (guitar, synth, sampling, bass, saxophone, vocals), Rick Spataro (bass, piano, synth, vocals) and Felix Walworth (percussion, synth, guitar, vocals) convened in a rented house in the Hudson Valley, to live and work together. It was the first time the quartet recorded that way, and for that long.

Emily Sprague didn’t need the other members of the band on Florist’s previous album, but on the self-titled fourth album recorded with the whole band, the band from New York rises to great heights.

Emily Alone” was three years ago a fine album by the American band Florist, which at that time actually only consisted of singer Emily Sprague. On the self-titled album released this week Florist, which is now a real band again, surpasses itself on all fronts. The almost hour-long album is partly filled with atmospheric instrumental tracks, which beautifully support the folky songs with a leading role for Emily Sprague. The band creates a special atmosphere through the use of samples and looking for experimentation and it is an atmosphere that is somewhat reminiscent of the last album of Big Thief, which has gained a serious competitor with Florist.

“In the past we’d meet up for a couple of days, or one day here and there,” Sprague recalls. “Living together for a month is a really big part of why the arrangements are the way they are, and also why the instrumentals are such a huge part of the record.” The result is 19 tracks that feel like the culmination of a decade-long journey, their fourth full-length album, but the first deserving of a self-titled designation. “We called it “Florist” because this is not just my songs with a backing band,” Sprague explains. “It’s a practice. It’s a collaboration. It’s our one life. These are my best friends and the music is the way that it is because of that.”

released July 29th, 2022

Emily Sprague – songs, vocals, guitars, synthesizers
Jonnie Baker – guitars, synthesizers, sampling, bowed guitars & bass, saxophone, vocals
Rick Spataro – bass, vocals, recording engineer, piano, synthesizers Felix Walworth – percussion, vocals, synthesizers, guitars

Packaging: 2LP “Deep Purple” Vinyl, 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.