Posted: September 8, 2022 in MUSIC

Purple Pyramid Records, focusing on progressive rock as well as psychedelic music, has been long-time home to releases by Yes, Rick Wakeman, Steve Howe, Santana, Amon Düül II, Nektar, Brainticket, Tangerine Dream, and Quicksilver Messenger Service. A division of Cleopatra Records, Inc.

A very special limited edition reissue of the monumental tribute to Roger Waters’ artrock opera, Pink Floyd’s The Wall, performed by the biggest stars of progressive rock music!

A multitude of classic rockers/prog rockers have united to cover “The Wall” in it’s entirety, under the title “Back Against the Wall“. Led by producer Billy Sherwood, a rotating case of musicians was assembled to make anyone with a well-worn copy of Tales of Topographic Oceans drool with excitement – Yes’ Rick Wakeman, Chris Squire, Alan White, and Geoffrey Downes; King Crimson’s Adrian Belew, Tony Levin, and John Wetton; Styx’s Tommy Shaw; ELP’s Keith Emerson, and Jethro Tull’s Ian Anderson, among countless others. Interestingly though, it can be argued that “The Wall” was Pink Floyd’s least “progressive” album, as the group focused on tight song structures – obviously inspired by the then burgeoning new wave and punk movements. The performances are expectedly spot-on (and it’s quite impressive how they re-created all the sound effects/spoken word bits so precisely), and stick very close to the originals – except for a Chris Squire-led take of “Comfortably Numb,” which adds a few extra bits. Ian Anderson Flute, Guest Artist, Vocals Rob Aubrey Engineer Adrian Belew Guest Artist, Guitar (Acoustic), Vocals Jordan Berliant Guitar (Acoustic) Gregg Bissonette Drums Vinnie Colaiuta Drums Geoffrey Downes Keyboards Aynsley Dunbar Drums Elliot Easton Guitar Keith Emerson Guest Artist, Keyboards, Organ Larry Fast Keyboards Mark Fergesen Technician Tony Franklin Bass John Giblin Bass Gary Green Guitar, Guitar (Electric) Steve Howe Guitar (Acoustic) Eric Jordan Engineer Tony Kaye Keyboards Robby Krieger Guitar Bob Kulick Guitar (Electric),

Tony Levin Bass, Stick Alex Ligertwood Vocals (Background) Steve Lukather Guitar, Vocals Malcolm McDowell Vocals Ronnie Montrose Guitar Steve Morse Guest Artist, Guitar Del Palmer Bass Mike Porcaro Bass Steve Porcaro Keyboards Jay Schellen Drums, Drums (Snare), Percussion, Vocals, Vocals (Background) Tommy Shaw Guitar, Guitar (Acoustic), Vocals Billy Sherwood Bass, Engineer, Guitar, Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric), Keyboards, Mixing, Orchestral Keyboards, Piano, Producer, Vocals, Vocals (Background) Michael Sherwood Vocals, Vocals (Background) Chris Squire Bass, Guest Artist, Vocals Rick Wakeman Guest Artist, Piano Fee Waybill Vocals John Wetton Bass, Vocals Dweezil Zappa Guitar.

Features performances by members of King Crimson (Adrian Belew, Tony Levin), ELP (Keith Emerson), The Doors (Robby Krieger), Jethro Tull (Ian Anderson), Yes (Rick Wakeman, Steve Howe, Alan White, Tony Kaye) Deep Purple (Glenn Hughes, Steve Morse), Styx (Tommy Shaw) & Toto (Steve Lukather, Steve Porcaro), PLUS award-winning actor Malcolm McDowell and many more!

released August 19th, 2022

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.