The final album from Be-Bop Deluxe, “Drastic Plastic”, is getting an expanded release. The 1978 recording is receiving a newly re-mastered, limited edition, 6-disc deluxe (naturally) boxed set (comprising four CDs and two NTSC – Region Free DVDs), including 43 previously unreleased tracks. The set arrives March 5th, 2021, via Cherry Red Records.

“Drastic Plastic” was recorded in the summer of 1978 in the south of France utilizing the Rolling Stones’ mobile studio, with final sessions taking place at The Manor Studio and Abbey Road Studios. The record saw Bill Nelson (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Charles Tumahai (bass, vocals), Andy Clark (keyboards) and Simon Fox (drums) venture into new musical styles, with the album being ground-breaking in its move to more art rock and new wave influences.

Co-produced by Nelson and John Leckie, the English progressive rock band’s Drastic Plastic featured such songs as “Electrical Language,” “Panic in the World,” “New Mysteries,” “Islands of the Dead” and “Surreal Estate.” The recording sessions produced many more tracks which would appear as singles and others that were originally planned for release as an EP set, all of which eventually appeared on the retrospective compilation The Best of & the Rest of, later that year.

This expanded deluxe reissue has been newly re-mastered from the original master tapes and features an additional 88 tracks, drawn from new 5.1 surround sound and stereo mixes from the original multi-track tapes by award winning engineer Stephen W. Tayler, previously unreleased out-takes from the album sessions, a BBC Radio John Peel Show session from January 1978, along with a CD of Nelson’s previously unreleased demos for the album, A Feeling of Playing.

Also included is an additional DVD featuring Be-Bop Deluxe in the south of France, (a collection of Bill Nelson’s 8mm home movies shot while recording Drastic Plastic) and the band’s “Sight & Sound in Concert” performance for BBC TV from 1978.

“Drastic Plastic” (1978 album; remastered four-CD, two-DVD box set, featuring an additional 88 tracks, 43 of which are previously unreleased, drawn from new 5.1 surround sound and stereo mixes from the original multi-track tapes by engineer Stephen W. Tayler, etc.; Expanded & Remastered Edition, two CDs; Esoteric Recordings / Cherry Red)

The boxed set includes a lavishly illustrated 68-page book with many previously unseen photographs and an essay of recollections by Nelson. The set includes postcards and a replica poster.

The set arrives March 5th, 2021, via Cherry Red Records.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.