Posts Tagged ‘Colin Ryan’

In advance of the release of “That’s Why We’re Running Away”, the new album from the Roadside Graves, their first new music for five years, we recently shared the excellent album opener “Sit So Close”. 

Roadside Graves have carved out a small and strange piece of musical territory over the course of their nearly twenty years together. Their sound emerges as much from their longstanding friendships and personality quirks as it does from their eclectic musical influences. That’s Why We’re Running Away was engineered and mixed in Brooklyn, NY by Robert Lombardo and mastered at Strange Weather by Daniel Schlett. On this new record, the group has created a cycle of songs about acceptance – the struggle to accept defeat and loss, and whether to give up peacefully. It’s about finding comfort in seeing the reality of a situation and reckoning honestly with your own part in it. If the question is acceptance, one answer then is to run away – not alone, but together. This a record about living in the tiny space between “I want to leave” and “I want to believe.”


Released May 22nd, 2020

All Songs written by Roadside Graves.
Colin Ryan: drums, percussion, vibraphone
Dave Jones: bass
Jeremy Benson: guitars, violin, harmonium, keys
John Gleason: vocals
John Piatkowski: electric piano, organ, synths
Guest vocals by Renee Maskin and Dana Sellers

Last Friday, the record was officially released and so that seems more than enough reason to share two more tracks from the record, which on first few listens, is just another very fine example of their reflective and compelling Americana.

So check out the gentle There Was A Way, and the mournful piano lament Dead Kids from the record, which you can order from Bandcamp here.