Posts Tagged ‘.’

nouvelle vague

Cult French covers band Nouvelle Vague are set to have a very busy time later this year. The group are releasing a new EP in September, going on tour in November and are gearing up to release a new album. Led by Marc Collin and Olivier Libaux – and very often accompanied by a variety of talented female vocalists – their upcoming new LP I Could Be Happy promises to feature a host of punk and post punk standards recorded in the group’s distinctive new wave, bossa nova style.

For those unable to wait, Nouvelle Vague will bridge the gap with a new EP, Athol-Brose, on 2nd September. Featuring the vocal talents of Liset Alea and Élodie Frégé, it contains a mixture of covers, remixes and original material. The group tackle Buzzcocks’ ‘Ever Fallen in Love’ and Cocteau Twins’ ‘Athol-Brose,’ while producer and singer Dream Koala remixes the band’s take on Joy Division’s ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart.’

‘Athol-Brose’ has also been chosen to help tease I Could Be Happy in a new, short video. The teaser trailer shows clips of Liset Alea and the band rehearsing and later recording the luscious cover at the Studio Saint Germain in Paris, giving a taste of what to expect from the record.

Athol-Brose, extract from the forth coming album of Nouvelle Vague : ‘I Could Be Happy’.

Photo: Press

Back in mid summer 2014 , we discovered Coves, a British duo with a taste for 1960s psychedelic vibes. Their new EP Spectrum , picks off where their debut album “Soft Friday” left off, dabbling in ethereal vocals and pounding percussion. Coves  new release  “Spectrum EP” the band from  Leamington Spa, UK duo Coves have become one of my favorites during this last 12 months. Their take on synth-pop is soaring, anthemic, and engrossing, and the music is perfect for whatever mood you’re in. they released a fantastic debut Soft Friday, an album that was exhilarating from the very first song to the last,  frequently coming back to the album  resulting in it being one of our favorite albums of 2014.

Becky Wood and John Ridgard are still hard at work, and last week they released a new four-track EP, titled Spectrum, This aptly titled album sees the band expand upon on their roaring synth-pop. The opening and lead single, “Shot To The Wall”, is the grittiest track they’ve done with more of a rock edge. The stupendous “No Looking Back” is a cinematic and atmospheric number. a track that leaves you gasping for a breath as Wood tells the story of a lost soul while Ridgard’s guitar and Beck’s keys brilliantly hover in the background before erupting into the song’s monumental climax.

Image result for coves band

“Twist” is a mid-tempo track that seems almost subdue for Coves, but it retains the catchy rhythms and melodies of songs on Soft Friday. The album concludes with the excellent “No Ladder”, which was on the duo’s debut. It was one of the few tracks that got overlooked as fans flocked to the scintillating numbers like “Beatings” and “Fall Out of Love”. This song, though, is stunning for his simplicity and restraint, showing that Coves isn’t just a band trying to blow your minds but also attempting to steal your hearts as well.

Last year’s ‘Soft Friday’ LP was a fuzzy rush of shoegaze, garage and pop. Now the Leamington Spa duo succeed it with this new EP, featuring more rickety, infectious gems like ‘Shot To The Wall’.


Spectrum is laced with driving riffs, propulsive beats and glacial atmospherics, spiked with Beck’s chilling lyrics of lying wolves, spurned lovers, star lights and dark nights that strike like a shard of glass to the heart.
Coves have risen quietly, but elegantly. Last year they released their critically acclaimed debut album Soft Friday, which won them firm support from the likes of BBC Radio 1’s Zane Lowe, Huw Stephens and Nick Grimshaw, 6Music’s Lauren Laverne, Don Letts and Radcliffe and Maconie and XFM’s John Kennedy, to name but a few.

They dropped lead track ‘Shot To The Wall’ ahead of their glittering headline tour in March.  But now the EP Spectrum will be available for free download on 13th April, after which the band will be returning to the studio to work on their next album.

Track Listing
1. Shot To The Wall
2. No Looking Back
3. Twist4. No Ladder (revisited)


This short film Written and Directed by Mónica González-Carter & Erick García Corona. “Alma follows a young girl through the countryside of Mexico as she encounters the fragility of life. My inspiration for this film arose from the effects of the Mexican drug war and the emotions it has planted in Mexico such as destruction, impotence and dehuminization,” said director and writer Monica Gonzalez Carter. more info
with music from the band Arthur Beatrice, taken from the début album, ‘Working Out’, available now.
the track is titled “Councillor”