The DANDY WARHOLS – ” The Black Album ” 2 LP Set Reissue

Posted: May 5, 2023 in MUSIC

The Black Album/Come On Feel The Dandy Warhols” is a 2004 double album released by American alternative band, The Dandy Warhols. The two-disc set was released on their own Beat the World Records label. Initially, the album was only available to purchase through the band’s website. It is now available to own via other sources.

Late January in Portland, 1996. The Dandy Warhols are hammering out the most deranged psych pop of their career in hopes of blowing the lids off their newfound suitors from Capitol Records, completely unaware that one of Oregon’s biggest natural disasters was raging outside their studio walls. The notorious Willamette Valley flood of ’96 chalked up over $500 million in property damage in the Pacific Northwest, but fell short of The Dandys’ studio space by 2 blocks. Courtney, Peter, Zia and Eric escaped the carnage without a scratch, the perfect metaphor for the band’s 3-decade-spanning journey.

They survived the major label buzz, an international hit single, “the documentary”, the rise and fall of brit pop, and a post-Napster music industry. What’s a little water gonna do? Riding off the debut hype of 1995’s Dandys Rule Ok, this new batch of songs saw a band spinning into an unknown. Bigger budgets meant bigger expectations

Disc one marks the first, official release of the band’s 1996 demo album (The Black Album) which was described as “lost”. The album, recorded before ...”The Dandy Warhols Come Down“, was rejected by Capitol Records and dismissed by the band themselves. Three songs that were included on the original recording of the album are not included on this release, namely: “Traci Lords”, “Alien” and “You Get High”.

The second disc “Come On Feel The Dandy Warhols” is the first compilation album released by the band. It contains B-sides, covers, and previously unreleased material. The cover of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young’s “Ohio” used “droning synthesizers” to produce an “alt/psychedelia sound.

Originaly released April 20th, 2004

Produced by Courtney Taylor-Taylor

VOCALS/GUITARS/KEYS: Courtney Taylor-Taylor
GUITARS: Peter Holmstrom
DRUMS: Eric Hedford

All songs written by Courtney Taylor-Taylor
except 7 by Courtney Taylor-Taylor and Zia McCabe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.