YES – “

Posted: April 29, 2023 in MUSIC

Rock Prog legends Yes have shared more new music from their upcoming twenty-third studio album, “Mirror To The Sky”, which will be released through Inside Out Music on May 19th.

Steve [Howe] added a beautifully poignant instrumental steel part which starts the journey,” explains vocalist Jon Davison of the new single. “This section emotionally builds and crescendos into a glorious lead way for the vocals to begin telling their story. Billy composed complex and compelling musical themes which I helped to arrange, and we both composed vocals and lyrics, each of us singing our respective parts, making for a rich vocal tapestry.”

“The initial idea came from a musical sketch I’d created using the idea of our ‘connectivity’ in regards to communications in the modern age,” says bass player Billy Sherwood. “It’s very exciting to know Yes are maintaining that edge and energy we all know and love, this track is firing on all cylinders. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did creating it.”

“This is a very important album for the band,” says Steve Howe, Yes’ longest serving member, master guitarist, and producer of “Mirror to the Sky”, the bands 23rd studio album. “We kept the continuity in the approach we established on “The Quest”, but we haven’t repeated ourselves. That was the main thing. As Yes did in the seventies from one album to another, we’re growing and moving forward. In later years, Yes often got going but then didn’t do the next thing. This album is demonstrative of us growing, and building again.” For Yes, that “next thing” is a collection of high energy, intricate, lush and layered new studio songs for an album which adds to the band’s much heralded legacy, while charting a path to exciting future times ahead.

You can watch the band’s animated video for their brand new single, the nine-minute long “All Connected” below.

“Mirror To The Sky” is dedicated to the memory of Yes drummer Alan White, who died in May last year. The album will be available on several formats, all featuring artwork by long-time Yes artist & collaborator Roger Dean, including: Ltd deluxe Electric Blue 2LP+2CD+Blu-ray artbook with poster, Ltd deluxe 2CD+Blu-ray artbook, Ltd 2CD digipak, standard CD Jewel case, gatefold 2LP+LP-Booklet and Digital Album

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.