YES – ” Topographic Drama ” Live In the USA

Posted: March 12, 2023 in MUSIC

Legendary progressive rock band Yes toured the USA and performed their 1980 album “Drama” in its entirety, together with sides one and four of their 1973 classic “Tales from Topographic Oceans”. The band released a live album, “Topographic Drama: Live Across America”, which features recordings from this tour.

This live  release – which also includes some fan favourites like  “Roundabout” and “Starship Trooper” – has audio taken from 12 dates recorded in February 2017, by the then current Yes line-up: Steve Howe (guitars), Alan White (drums), Geoff Downes (keyboards), Billy Sherwood (bass), Jon Davison (vocals), and additional drummer for this tour Jay Schellen.

“Topographic Drama”– Live Across America” highlights the best performances from the 2017 leg of the 28-show tour and mirrors the set list from those concerts. Each night, Yes opened with all six songs from the 1980 album “Drama” the band’s tenth studio album, which peaked at #2 on the U.K. album chart. Standouts include “Machine Messiah,” “Tempus Fugit” and the album’s only single “Into The Lens.” After Drama, the band shifted gears for songs from two of its best-selling albums: “And You And I” from 1972’s “Close To The Edge” and “Heart Of The Sunrise” from 1971’s “Fragile”.

Next, the group played the opening and closing tracks of its concept album, “Tales From Topographic Oceans” (1973). Howe’s exceptional guitar work on “The Revealing Science Of God” and White’s propulsive drumming on “Ritual” have always been regarded as ground-breaking. The album concludes with two live staples: “Roundabout” from “Fragile” (1971) and “Starship Trooper” from “The Yes Album” (1971). Among the world’s most influential, ground-breaking, and respected progressive rock bands, Yes was founded in 1968. The Grammy-Award® winning recording artistshave sold more than 50 million records in a career that has so far spanned six decades.

This set is on double CD and as a 3LP vinyl package, with cover and design by – you guessed it – Roger Dean.

“Topographic Drama: Live Across America” released by Rhino Records in November 2017.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.