The DOORS –  ” Paris Blues ” Record Store Day

Posted: November 19, 2022 in MUSIC

A compilation of The Doors’ greatest live blues recordings both in the studio and on the stage. Featuring the never-before-released track “Paris Blues” and original artwork created for this release by Robby Krieger.

Among fans of The Doors, “Paris Blues” has a near-mythical status due to its existence as the last-known unissued studio recording from the famed Los Angeles psychedelic/rock band.

Assumed lost for decades, the track — which has a recording origin of either “The Soft Parade” or “L.A. Woman” album sessions — has somehow resurfaced all these years later, and will be the focus of a special new vinyl release from the Doors for Record Store Day Black Friday on Nov. 25th.

On a related note, it’s worth pointing out that the Doors released a special edition of “L.A. Woman” in December 2021, revisiting the classic album for a big anniversary. The Last Known Unreleased Song From The Doors Vault, “Paris Blues”

The Song Is Also Featured On The Doors New Blues Compilation “Paris Blues”, Available As A Limited Edition On Translucent Blue Vinyl Exclusively For Record Store Day’s Black Friday Event On November 25th.

“Paris Blues” has quite an intriguing backstory, laid out like this in a news release:

“Paris Blues” travelled a long and winding path to its release, taking on a mythic quality among Doors’ fans along the way. An original blues song written by the band; the track was recorded during one of the band’s recording sessions for either “The Soft Parade” or “L.A. Woman” (no one seems to remember). The master tape of the song was lost and the only surviving copy was given to Doors’ keyboardist Ray Manzarek. Sadly, this copy was partially damaged by his son Pablo (a toddler at the time), who recorded over a few short parts. Now, through some creative editing, the song has been rescued from obscurity for the new album.

The band’s deep love for the blues shines throughout “Paris Blues”. Other highlights include two previously unreleased live recordings of singer Jim Morrison and Krieger performing as a duo at a benefit for Norman Mailer’s mayoral campaign on May 31st, 1969 in West Hollywood. The first song is “I Will Never Be Untrue,” a band original written for, but left off of, 1970’s “Morrison Hotel“. The other is a cover of Robert Johnson’s “Me And The Devil Blues.” Both songs were recorded by Frank Lisciandro, a film maker who befriended Manzarek and Morrison when all three attended the film program at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).

The vinyl release, which has been pressed to 10,000 individually numbered copies on translucent blue vinyl, will be available at select indie music retailers for the Black Friday event. Its cover art is an original painting by guitarist Robby Krieger and the set also includes liner notes by blues scholar Mary Katherine Aldin.

In addition to the vaunted “Paris Blues” featured on this special new vinyl release, the set also features more material:

“Paris Blues” also contains a pair of outtakes recorded during the band’s sessions for 1969’s The Soft Parade “(You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further” and “I’m Your Doctor.” Both feature Manzarek on vocals backed by Krieger and drummer John Densmore. In 2019, bass by Robert DeLeo of Stone Temple Pilots was added to the songs, which were included on Rhino’s 50th anniversary edition of the album.

The flipside of “Paris Blues” collects three songs from Live in Vancouver 1970, a concert album released in 2010 by the DoorsBright Midnight Archive label. Recorded during the band’s 1970 tour, these live tracks spotlight legendary bluesman Albert King, who joined the band onstage during its June 6th, 1970 show at the Pacific Coliseum in Vancouver. Morrison’s introduction of King is included along with live versions of “Little Red Rooster,” “Rock Me Baby,” and “Who Do You Love?”

Side A

1.     “Paris Blues” *

2.     “I Will Never Be Untrue” *

3.     “Me And The Devil Blues” *

4.     “(You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further”

5.     “I’m Your Doctor”

Side B

1.     Jim’s Introduction

2.     “Little Red Rooster” – with Albert King

3.     “Rock Me Baby” – with Albert King

4.     “Who Do You Love?” with Albert King

* previously unreleased

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.