GIRLPOOL – ” Forgiveness “

Posted: May 2, 2022 in MUSIC

Girlpool – the Los Angeles–based duo of Avery Tucker and Harmony Tividad – have followed up 2019’s “What Chaos Is Imaginary” with a new album called “Forgiveness“. Out now via ANTI-Records, the record was previewed with the tracks ‘Dragging My Life Into a Dream’, ‘Faultline’ and ‘Lie Love Lullaby’. “A lot of my songs on this record are about relationship dynamics where I experienced frustration and pain, and struggling to hold a lot of complexity in my emotions,” Tucker said in press materials. “Writing “Forgiveness” helped me fit all those pieces into an acceptance: that my fate pushes me exactly where I need to go.” Tividad added: “A lot of life feels like unavoidable experiences to me.

To me, “Forgiveness” is about accepting that concept. It’s about forgiving reality for having to be exactly what it is all the time.”

When Girlpool released their fourth LP at the beginning of 2022, it would have been hard to predict that by the end of the year, the folk-turned-synth-pop duo would have disbanded for the foreseeable future. That this may be the last statement from Avery Tucker and Harmony Tividad makes what was already a career high feel all the more poignant, from the forward-thinking industrial-pop of “Nothing Gives Me Pleasure” to the dreamy, folk-leaning farewells of “Butterfly Bulletholes” and “Love333.” It’s the sound of a longtime duo finding thrilling new paths forward, even if it means starting over anew.

Released April 29th, 2022

Written by Girlpool

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.