BEACH HOUSE – ” Runaway, ESP, New Romance ” and ” Over And Over “

Posted: January 7, 2022 in MUSIC
Beach House - Once Twice Melody

Beach House are releasing their new album, “Once Twice Melody“, in monthly four-song chapters, culminating with the physical release of the whole album on February 18th. We got the first four songs, including the title track, back in November, and now here are the next four: “Runaway,” “ESP,” “New Romance” and “Over and Over.”

Once Twice Melody” is being released in four distinct “chapters.” “Chapter 2” has now arrived. Following the first four songs of the 18-track album (including its title track), the second installment features four new ones: “Runaway,” “ESP,” “New Romance,” and “Over and Over.” The next two parts of the follow-up to 2018’s “7″ will arrive in the beginning of 2022. “Chapter 3” is out January 19th; and the full album release arrives on February 18th.

Tracklist: 5. Runaway Directed by Ethan Fedele 6. ESP Directed by Jennifer Juniper Stratford 7. New Romance Directed by Zach Lieberman 8. Over and Over Directed by Nicholas Law

Once Twice Melody” is the 8th studio album by Beach House. It is a double album, featuring 18 songs presented in 4 chapters. Across these songs, many types of style and song structures can be heard. Songs without drums, songs centered around acoustic guitar, mostly electronic songs with no guitar, wandering and repetitive melodies, songs built around the string sections. In addition to new sounds, many of the drum machines, organs, keyboards and tones that listeners may associate with previous Beach House records remain present throughout many of the compositions.

Beach House is Victoria Legrand, lead singer and multi-instrumentalist, and Alex Scally, guitarist and multi-instrumentalist. They write all of their songs together. “Once Twice Melody” is the first album produced entirely by the band. The live drums are by James Barone (same as their 2018 album, 7), and were recorded at Pachyderm studio in Minnesota and United Studio in Los Angeles. For the first time, a live string ensemble was used. Strings were arranged by David Campbell.

The writing and recording of “Once Twice Melody” began in 2018 and was completed in July of 2021. Most of the songs were created during this time, though a few date back over the previous 10 years. Most of the recording was done at Apple Orchard Studio in Baltimore. “Once Twice Melody” was mixed largely by Alan Moulder but a few tracks were also mixed by Caesar Edmunds, Trevor Spencer, and Dave Fridmann.

The album will be available in the following formats:

  • Vinyl Box Set: Gold and clear vinyl LPs in separate jackets with custom dust sleeves, two posters, book, all enclosed in a hinged box. 
  • 2xLP: Black LPs in a wide-spine jacket with poster and custom dust sleeves.
  • 2xCD: Includes wide-spine jacket with poster and custom dust sleeves.

“Once Twice Melody” Release Sscehule Chapter One: November 10th, 2021 Chapter Two: December 8th, 2021 Chapter Three: January 19th, 2022 Chapter Four: February 18th, 2022

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.