BIG THIEF – ” Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You “

Posted: November 16, 2021 in MUSIC
May be art

Big Thief revealed in an interview in October that they’re releasing a 20-song double album in 2022, and today they’ve officially announced it. It’s called “Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You” and due February 11th via 4AD Records (pre-order).

Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You” is a sprawling double-LP exploring the deepest elements and possibilities of Big Thief. To truly dig into all that the music of Adrianne Lenker, Max Oleartchik, Buck Meek, and James Krivchenia desired in 2020, the band decided to write and record a rambling account of growth as individuals, musicians, and chosen family over 4 distinct recording sessions. In Upstate New York, Topanga Canyon, The Rocky Mountains, and Tucson, Arizona, Big Thief spent 5 months in creation and came out with 45 completed songs. The most resonant of this material was edited down into the 20 tracks that make up “Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You” a fluid and adventurous listen. The album was produced by drummer James Krivchenia who initially pitched the recording concept for “Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You” back in late 2019 with the goal of encapsulating the many different aspects of Adrianne’s songwriting and the band onto a single record.

As mentioned in that interview, the album was written while the band quarantined for two weeks in a house in the Vermont woods in July 2020, and it was recorded at Sam Evian’s Flying Cloud studio in upstate New York, Jonathan Dixon’s Five Star Studio in California with engineer Shawn Everett (The War On Drugs, The Killers, etc), Colorado’s Studio in The Clouds with engineer Dom Monks (Nick Cave, Laura Marling), and Tucson, Arizona’s Press On with engineer Scott McMicken (of Dr. Dog) and frequent Big Thief collaborator Mat Davidson (of Twain) on pedal steel and fiddle. Big Thief drummer James Krivchenia produced.

Big Thief’s highly anticipated 20-song double album comes out in February via 4AD, and you can now hear fifth single ”Time Escaping”

The album includes the band’s four recently-released singles (“Change,” “Little Things,” “Sparrow,” and “Certainty”), as well as the just-released “Time Escaping.” The song was made with prepared acoustic guitars and a heavily percussive backdrop, and it doesn’t sound like anything Big Thief have ever released.

It’s very cool stuff, and you can hear it for yourself below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.