MODERN NATURE – ” Island of Noise “

Posted: October 15, 2021 in MUSIC
Tags: , ,
No photo description available.

Good news today, Seems that faves Modern Nature (feat members of Ultimate Painting, Sunwatchers) has a new project on the way. Previewing a few tracks in an excellent set at The Woods Stage at the End Of the Road Festival. The new album is unlike any other in the Modern Nature catalogue. While Jack Cooper still blends folk, jazz, psychedelia, and kosmiche touchstones, this is less a pop album and more of a compositional approach to world building.

The record spans two versions – “Island of Noise” and “Island of Silence”, the latter an instrumental version of the record. The album pushes out the edges of Cooper’s world while also drawing the conceptual edge tight — with the record set to inhabit an imaginary island seen from an outsider’s perspective. The album will feature kindred spirits both audio and visual from Cooper’s world, drawing in saxophonist Evan Parker, pianist Alexander Hawkins, bassist John Edwards and violinist Alison Cotton, as well as long term collaborators Jeff Tobias and Jim Wallis. An accompanying book will feature Booker-nominated poet Robin Robertson, mycologist Merlin Sheldrake, illustrator Sophy Hollington, and writer Richard King and there will be a film as well (excerpts of which are above, created by Jack and his former Mazes bandmate Conan Roberts. The new record arrives November 19th from Bella Union.

There is an Event Bundle includes one free entry to the launch event at The Social on November 15th featuring an exclusive film screening and Q&A, presented by Caught by the River. Collect your album on the night, days before official release! More info about the event here.

Island of Noise – 180g Recycled Vinyl
Island of Silence (Expanded Instrumental Version) – 180g Recycled Vinyl
36pg Perfect Bound Booklet with 10 contributions from artists & writers in conjunction with, and inspired by, a song on the album. Contributors include Sophy Hollington, Evan Parker, Merlin Sheldrake and Robin Robertson. Limited to 1000 copies.

Since the demise of his previous band Ultimate Painting, Jack Cooper – under his Modern Nature guise – has never stopped looking ahead, exploring and reaching for something further. Since 2019, he’s released an EP, last year’s mini album “Annual“, one full length LP, one 7” and three live cassettes – in the process mapping out astonishing new terrain. Island Of Noise presents an obvious new peak in his discography.

Available only as a limited edition boxset. Made from sustainable material. JACK COOPER — Guitar JOHN EDWARDS — Double Bass ALEXANDER HAWKINS – Piano EVAN PARKER — Soprano Saxophone JEFF TOBIAS — Bass Clarinet JIM WALLIS – Percussion

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.