Posted: August 29, 2021 in MUSIC

Girlpuppy is 22 year old Atlanta based singer-songwriter Becca Harvey. Either wanting to be Hannah Montana or Taylor Swift growing up, she is now making music that sounds nothing like her childhood influences. Following her first track For You and it’s success, she enlisted the help of of Marshall Vore (Phoebe Bridgers) to make her debut ep, coming soon.

Girlpuppy became Becca’s sole focus when the coronavirus pandemic forced her out of her job at an East Atlanta bakery. With an abundance of spare time on her hands, Becca found herself able to finish work on the tracks she had originally started putting together a year earlier. The result is the debut Girlpuppy EP, “Swan”, which was released last week via Royal Mountain Records.

“Swan” opens with Becca’s recent single, “Miniature Furniture“, a track named in honour of an art exhibition at The Art Institute of Chicago and a summer spent hitting the road, burying the feelings of a difficult break-up in socialising, travelling and doing anything to avoid thinking about relationships. Musically, the track is a beautiful introduction to Girlpuppy’s sound, a fusion of languid indie-guitars and hazy dream-pop atmospheres, all serving as a backing to Becca’s beautifully unhurried vocal line. Elsewhere on the record Cheerleader is more a moody piece that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Phoebe Bridgers record, while the burbling electronic pulse of Hideout demonstrates the EPs impressive musical variety. Perhaps the finest moment is the EP’s penultimate track, As Much As I Can, “a love song to the people in my life that make unconditional love the most difficult“, set to a backing of rapid tumbling guitars in the vein of Amber Arcades or Alvvays. These are early days for Girlpuppy, a five-song EP that’s finding its place in the musical landscape, yet the potential is boundless, for Girlpuppy the future could take her as far as her imagination allows.

Becca Harvey: vocals
Marshall Vore: drums, acoustic guitar, keys
Grace Repasky: bass, keys, harmony vocals, acoustic guitar
Maggie Geeslin: electric guitar, lap steel
Ruby Henley: synth
Charlie Hickey: harmony vocals, piano, 12 string guitar, bass
John Michael Young: 12 string guitar, electric guitar, bass
Mason Stoops: lap steel, bass
Cole Petersen: drums

Released August 20th, 2021

  1. That is perfect end of summer indie. Love it

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.