BUMPER (JAPANESE BREAKFAST) – ” Pop Songs 2020 Bumper ” EP

Posted: September 3, 2020 in MUSIC
Tags: , , , ,

Japanese Breakfast’s Michelle Zauner has joined forces with Crying’s Ryan Galloway for a new quarantine project called BUMPER. Today, they’ve announced their debut EP pop songs 2020, which is officially out tomorrow (September 4th) but you can stream in its entirety now. Listen to the four-track project below (via Rolling Stone).

Zauner and Galloway live three blocks apart from one another in New York City, but haven’t seen each other in person since the pandemic began earlier this year. They started sharing tracks for the new EP over email back in June. “pop songs 2020”.  “Black Light” was probably the highlight, Japanese Breakfast released her sophomore album, Soft Sounds From Another Planet, in July 2017 via Dead Oceans (it was one of our Top 100 Albums of 2017). Last year she announced that she has signed a book deal with the publishing company Knopf and is writing a memoir entitled Crying in H Mart. A press release described the book as such: “Crying in H Mart is Zauner’s story about growing up Korean-American, losing her mother too young, searching for identity in a hybrid culture, and finding a passion for her ancestry and Korean cooking as a way to heal and return to her roots in the wake of loss.”

Zauner’s writing has also previously appeared in Glamour and The New Yorker. There’s no word on when Crying in H Mart will be published. She’s also an accomplished music video director.

Zauner issued her last studio album as Japanese BreakfastSoft Sounds From Another Planet—in 2017. The previous year, Crying shared their Beyond the Fleeting Gales LP.

Michelle Zauner and Ryan Galloway live three blocks apart but haven’t seen each other since the beginning of quarantine. Zauner, who performs under the moniker Japanese Breakfast, and Galloway, best known for his project Crying, started trading tracks in early June, adding layers back and forth over email. Betwixt synth and sample, track and tune, concocting songs that mix the playful quirks of Cibo Matto with the bombastic power of late 80s Janet Jackson, Bumper emerges from the confines of two NY apartments and offers pop songs 2020.

EP Track Listing:
– You Can Get It!
– Black Light
– Red Brick
– Ballad 0

Bumper ‘pop songs 2020’ EP available September 4th, 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.