The JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE – ” Live In Europe ” 1966-1967

Posted: August 12, 2020 in CLASSIC ALBUMS, MUSIC
Tags: , , , ,

The Experience’s first three releases were 45s on Track Records, the independent label owned by The Who managers Kit Lambert and Chris Stamp. All three reached the top ten of the UK pop charts in early 1967: “Hey Joe / Stone Free” made #6 in January, “Purple Haze” #3 in March and “The Wind Cries Mary” #6 in May. Naturally, their TV appearances at this time were largely vehicles for promoting these records but the most unusual broadcast we feature here is a studio session recorded for the experimental Dutch TV show Hoepla, where the band was encouraged to perform extended versions of their songs. Sound quality ranges from excellent (Dutch, French TV) to acceptable (UK TV). This album shows us just how good they sounded as they transition from psychedelic pop group to stadium rock band.

Side One
1 Foxy Lady
2 Purple Haze
3 Purple Haze
4 Wild Thing
5 The Wind Cries Mary
6 Hey Joe

Side Two
1 Hey Joe
2 Stone Free
3 Wild Thing
4 Stone Free
5 Like a Rolling Stone
6 Purple Haze

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.