ONE ELEVEN HEAVY – ” Everything’s Better “

Posted: December 12, 2018 in ALBUMS, MUSIC
Tags: , , , , , ,

Image may contain: one or more people, people sitting, shoes, tree and outdoor

The political tenor of 2018 might make the year an incongruous one for a US/UK rock supergroup to call their album Everything’s Better, but don’t miss the forest for the trees. It’s precisely because the turmoil of our modern day that One Eleven Heavy, songwriters James Toth (Wooden Wand) and Nick Mitchell Maiato (Desmadrados Soldados De Ventura), along with bassist Dan Brown (Royal Trux), drummer Ryan Jewell (Solar Motel Band), and pianist Hans Chew (Steve Gunn, Hiss Golden Messenger), carve out a space for joyful noise amidst the chaos. Everything’s better when the music works, and theirs, which gleefully combines the chooge of the Band with the range of the Dead and NRBQ, works in abundance.

The debut album of this band formed by American and English musicians, inspired by the “Cosmic American Music” of the late 60’s and early 70’s. A delightful and surprising blend of psychedelic rock, folk and blues, reminiscent of bands like Crazy Horse, The Band, Little Feat, The Grateful Dead, New Rhythm and others from the West Coast American movement.

Band Members
Dan Brown – Bass
Hans Chew – Piano/Keyboards/Vocals
Adam Kriney – Drums/Vocals
Nick Mitchell-Maiato – Vocals & Guitar
James Jackson Toth – Vocals & Guitar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.