The REPLACEMENTS – ” For Sale Live At Maxwells ” 1986

Posted: September 24, 2017 in CLASSIC ALBUMS, MUSIC
Tags: ,

Rhino Records announced it will release a live double album recorded by the beloved original lineup of The Replacements, a fabled February 1986 show at Maxwell’s in Hoboken, N.J., that found the band blasting through a 29-song set of album tracks, B-sides and covers.

The release, For Sale: Live at Maxwell’s 1986, had been hinted at on the band’s Facebook page . The album will be released October. 6th as a 2CD and 2LP set, as well as digital download and streaming. It’s the band’s first live album since 1985’s cassette-only The Shit Hits the Fans.


According to Rhino’s announcement of the album:

The show at Maxwell’s would prove to be one of the last great performances by the four original members of the Replacements, a much beloved line-up including Bob Stinson on guitar, before his departure from the band in 1986. The songs they played spanned the band’s entire history while giving prominence to new material from Timincluding “Bastards Of Young,” “Left Of The Dial” and “Kiss Me On The Bus.” Mixed in were favorites like “I Will Dare” from Let It Be (1984) and “Color Me Impressed” from Hootenanny (1983). But it was songs from the band’s first album — Sorry Ma, Forgot To Take Out The Trash (1981) — that seemed to summon their best on furious versions of “Takin’ A Ride” and “I’m In Trouble.”

The show was recorded on a 24-track mobile studio at the time, but never released. The master tapes sat in Warner Music’s vaults until 2007, when they were given a “proper mix,” though it would take another 10 years before the live set would see release.

Replacements biographer Bob Mehr writes in the album’s liner notes:

“Now, a decade later, and more than 30 years after the original concert, Replacements For Sale finally offers high-fidelity proof of the peculiar alchemy and unadulterated majesty of one of rock and roll’s greatest bands.”

Tracklist: The Replacements, For Sale: Live at Maxwell’s 1986

Disc 1
1. “Hayday”
2. “Color Me Impressed”
3. “Dose Of Thunder”
4. “Fox On The Run”
5. “Hold My Life”
6. “I Will Dare”
7. “Favorite Thing”
8. “Unsatisfied”
9. “Can’t Hardly Wait”
10. “Tommy Gets His Tonsils Out”
11. “Takin’ A Ride”
12. “Bastards Of Young”
13. “Kiss Me On The Bus”
14. “Black Diamond”

Disc 2

1. “Johnny’s Gonna Die”
2. “Otto”
3. “I’m In Trouble”
4. “Left Of The Dial”
5. “God Damn Job”
6. “Answering Machine”
7. “Waitress In The Sky”
8. “Take Me Down To The Hospital”
9. “Gary’s Got A Boner”
10. “If Only You Were Lonely”
11. “Baby Strange”
12. “Hitchin’ A Ride”
13. “Nowhere Man”
14. “Go”
15. “Fuck School”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.