PURE PHASE ENSEMBLE 6 Featuring ANTON NEWCOMBE – ” Live At Spacefest “

Posted: September 13, 2017 in ALBUMS, MUSIC
Tags: , ,

No automatic alt text available.

Next Friday the ‘Live at SpaceFest!’ album drops for PURE PHASE ENSEMBLE 6 Featuring ANTON NEWCOMBE but today there is a new video plus the full download for the album in 320 kbps quality, and the new video for ‘Balwan’, the second single from this release, following up the first one ‘God Drugs’.

Pure Phase Ensemble 6 feat. Anton Newcombe has unveiled the video for Bałwan’, the second track teasing the forthcoming ‘Live at SpaceFest!’ LP, to be released through Nasiono Records. This new single was preceded by the first one ‘God Drugs’, which sees The Brian Jonestown Massacre ringmaster Anton Newcombe at his best. The album includes seven tracks.

Pure Phase Ensemble is an eclectic rotating group of musicians, who come together every year in December during Gdansk’s illustrious SpaceFest!,. The group’s makeup constantly changes, guided by the artistic vision of a new curator every year and directed by Anna Szynwelska and Karol Schwarz of Nasiono Records, who has been responsible for its musical cohesion from the very outset.

Anton Newcombe led this current incarnation, along with with Emil Nikolaisen of Scandinavian rock band Serena Maneesh. The six other musicians involved this year were drawn from various Polish alternative bands. They include Karol Schwarz (7faz, KSAS)Olga Mysłowska (Polpo Motel)Maciej Karmiński (Jesień)Marcin Lewandowski (Judy’s Funeral, Castlings, Soon)Jakub Żwirełło (Oslo Kill City, Szezlong), and Kacper Graczyk (Aiodine, coding).

Just ahead of SpaceFest!, Nasiono Records hosts a workshop, with musicians improvising to produce a set of unique songs. These intensive sessions take place at Laznia Centre for Contemporary Art in the city’s Nowy Port district, the artists gathering inspiration amidst its post-industrial atmosphere. The festival then culminates in this music being performed and recorded in real time for the inevitable album release.

Underlying the importance of festivals like this, Anton Newcombe says, “turn on the fucking radio…then turn it back off. That shit is bad for you. erm…lets have an urban contemporary rap festival everywhere and see what happens. Let’s have more DJ festivals…name one fucking important DJ now that people will respect in 30 years…name a record besides some classic jam that anyone at a club cares about. It’s all disposable. We are all trying to create our own culture because Western culture is dead”.

“I want to help establish SpaceFest! as one of the most important cultural events in Poland and totally relevant in Europe. I would like to be involved on a deeper level. I want to integrate culturally, artistically with all of Europe…well not the fascist part haha, not the neocons…not the Polanski eyes wide shut fuckers… but the artists”.

This latest SpaceFest! also resulted in a one-on-one collaboration between Anton Newcombe and PPE 6 member Kacper Graczyk – together, the two have released the track ‘Not Blowing Smoke Up Your Ass’. 

In past incarnations of Pure Phase Ensemble, the group was curated by Mark Gardener (Ride), Laetitia Sadier (Stereolab), Ray Dickaty (Spiritualized), Steve Hewitt (Placebo), Jaime Harding (Marion), Chris Olley (Six By Seven), and Hugo Race (The Bad Seeds, The True Spirit). 

SpaceFest! has figuratively transformed Gdansk into the intergalactic capital of Poland, presenting psychedelic music at its best with shoegaze, Krautrock and space-rock plus cosmic energy, intergalactic cats, forest goblins, psyched visuals, pagan disco and more. The workshop is organized by the Nasiono Association in cooperation with the Laznia Centre for Contemporary Art, andl is co-financed by the City of Gdansk. 

Clocking in at just over 44 minutes  and priced at just €6.99, Pure Phase Ensemble 6 ‘Live at SpaceFest!’ will be released on CD and digitally on September 29, but can already be pre-ordered via Bandcamp.

Music by Pure Phase Ensemble 6
* Lyrics by Anton Newcombe
^ Lyrics by Olga Mysłowska, Karol Schwarz, Jakub Graczyk

Anton Newcombe – voc, guitar, mellotron
Emil Nikolaisen – guitar
Karol Schwarz – guitar, voc
Olga Mysłowska – keyboard, voc
Maciej Karmiński – drums
Marcin Lewandowski – bass
Jakub Żwirełło – guitar
Kacper Graczyk – electronic beats, synths, backing vocals

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.