Image of Various Artists - A Tribute To Pet Sounds

VARIOUS ARTISTS  –  Tribute to Pet Sounds

Austin, Texas – Brian Wilson was to perform the full album Pet Sounds at the Levitation music festival to celebrate the album’s 50th anniversary. In honour of this event festival curators The Reverberation Appreciation Society commissioned Al Lover to curate and produce a tribute to Brian Wilson’s career keystone.

Features artists such as Black Angels, Shannon & The Clams, Holy Wave, Cosmonauts and The Shivas.

‘Pet Sounds’ is a fountainhead from which the 15 artists on the album have all drank from as they developed their own musical roots, giving the tribute a rich and flavoursome sound. The tracklisting consists of the original thirteen songs that appeared on the ‘Pet Sounds’ album, with two bonus songs: ‘Good Vibrations’ and ‘Hang On To Your Ego’.

Holy Wave’s interpretation of ‘That’s Not Me’ is a sunbaked, organ filled hymn that is a minute longer than the original song. picking up where Brian Wilson left off in 1966. ‘That’s Not Me’ is a kaleidoscope of ear-pleasing notes that take the listener into an elevated listening experience of astonishing detail.

Shannon & The Clams capture Brian Wilson’s feelings of alienation in ‘I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times’, taking the climactic Beach Boys song and transform it into a garage rock epic with a surf rock spine. This track transcends time with both its subject matter and its deliverance.

The album opens with The Black Angels‘ rendition of Brian Wilson’s masterpiece ‘Good Vibrations’, which was started during the Pet Sounds sessions but not released on the album.

Good Vibrations – The Black Angels
Wouldn’t It Be Nice – Indian Jewelry
You Still Believe In Me – The She’s
That’s Not Me – Holy Wave
Don’t Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) – Morgan Delt
I’m Waiting For The Day – The Shivas
Let’s Go Away For A While – Boogarins
Sloop John B – Night Beats
God Only Knows – Chris Catalena
I Know There’s An Answer – Christian Bland & The Revelators
Here Today – Cool Ghouls
I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times – Shannon & The Clams
Pet Sounds – Burnt Ones
Caroline, No – Cosmonauts
Hang On To Your Ego – The UFO Club

Image of Catfish And The Bottlemen - The Ride

Catfish & the Bottlemen  –   The Ride

Catfish & the Bottlemen’s second album The Ride, mostly produced in LA by Dave Sardy is a collection of bold and riffing pop songs that verge on the anthemic.

“I feel like the last album was the support band, or even the soundcheck and this one’s the headliner,” says charismatic frontman Van McCann.

Glistening pop-rock anthems a plenty on this newest release from Wales’ Catfish and The Bottlemen. Driving and heartfelt odes to love and loss underpinned by shimmering production and emotive instrumental performances, impeccable vocal harmonies float atop the main vocal lines before the distortion kicks in, and breaks it all down into pulsing, grooving rock territory. Everything you’d come to expect, and more.

The Claypool Lennon Delirium  –  Monolith of Phobos

Two worlds have collided, and what glorious and odd worlds they are. After Primus and The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger completed a successful summer tour, Les Claypool and Sean Lennon decided to combine their abstract talents into a project called The Claypool Lennon Delirium. Their efforts thus far have spawned the upcoming full-length release Monolith of Phobos.


Mudcrutch release their second album entitled ‘2’ via Reprise Records. The album is the follow up to the band’s 2008 eponymous debut which Rolling Stone called “a country-rock instant classic” in a rave four star review. Mudcrutch was initially formed in 1970 in Gainesville, Florida and is the precursor to the legendary Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers. Tom Petty (bass / vocals), Tom Leadon (guitar / vocals), Benmont Tench (keyboards / vocals), Mike Campbell (guitar / vocals), and Randall Marsh (drums / vocals) make up the band’s current line-up. In 1974, Mudcrutch was signed to Shelter Records and moved to Los Angeles where they released one single, ‘Depot Street,’ to very little fanfare. The band broke up in 1975 and could have settled for being a legend, but instead Mudcrutch rose from the ashes in 2008 to remind us that the golden age of rock and roll bands still had a few treasures to unearth. Their debut, made some thirty-three years later, was an unexpected hit. All members of Mudcrutch contribute songs on their new album ‘2.’ The album includes seven originals written by Tom Petty, with band members Mike Campbell, Tom Leadon, Randall Marsh and Benmont Tench composing one each.
LP – 180 Gram vinyl in Gatefold Sleeve with limited edition art print.



If you dig the Black Angels, and all things desert psyche check out The Myrrors new album. There’s a confounding nature to the comfort constructed by The Myrrors throughout the flawless forty minutes of ‘Entranced Earth’, the third full length album from the transcendentallytuned, Tuscon-tied desert die-hards. So subtle is the albumopening invocation of ‘Mountain Mourning’ that it threatens to never descend from its skybound view, leaving the track that follows, ‘Liberty Is In the Street’, to offer the album’s first, fading glimpse of solid ground. ‘On your feet or on your knees’ goes the mantra-like vocal drone, though the effect is likely to bring to mind the Moody Blues more than Blue Öyster Cult (at least, the path of The Myrrors seems to include traces of the footprints left by the onetime Harvard professor given an early eulogy by the Blues on ‘Legend of a Mind’).


Radio broadcast from late period Creedence – all the hits done really well.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.