SIMPLE MINDS – ” Once Upon A Time ” Released 21st October 1985

Posted: October 22, 2015 in ALBUMS, MUSIC
Tags: , ,

It was 30 years ago today that thisalbum was released “Once Upon A Time” . One of their best best seller’s no doubt. The memories of making it, and then seeing it do so well the world over, will always stay with us. As will our thanks to all who supported us by buying and listening to the music contained within “the vinyl grooves” The best years of our lives? It was certainly among them. Onwards and upwards! Jim Kerr.

In December 2015, multiple formats of the album will be re-issued in Box Set form

The original 8-track album on one CD (remastered)
The original 8-track album on one LP (remastered)
2CD Deluxe edition (2-CD set, second CD includes single mixes, b-sides, remixes and live recordings)
Blu-ray version of the album (audio only), with surround mixes of the album
Super Deluxe 5CD/1DVD set (includes both discs from the 2CD Deluxe Edition, plus another disc of rarities, b-sides and remixes, two discs featuring Live in the City of Light. DVD contains 5.1 Surround and Stereo mixes of the original album plus promo videos)

Once Upon a Time is the seventh studio album by Simple Minds, originally release 1985

Although already successful in their native UK and Europe, the band had also now become popular in the US, mainly due to the Keith Forsey-penned “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” which appeared on The Breakfast Club soundtrack and had become a No.1 hit there. However, the band deliberately left the track off the album due to their reluctance to record it. Four singles were taken from the album; “Alive and Kicking” (UK No. 7, US #3), “All the Things She Said” (UK No. 9, US #28), “Sanctify Yourself” (UK No. 10, US #14), and “Ghost Dancing” (UK #13). The album topped the UK charts, and peaked at No.10 on the US charts (5 consecutive weeks in Top 10 of Billboard and 16 weeks in Top 20).


  1. “Once Upon a Time” – 5:44
  2. All the Things She Said” – 4:16
  3. Ghost Dancing” – 4:46
  4. Alive and Kicking” – 5:25
  5. “Oh Jungleland” – 5:12
  6. “I Wish You Were Here” – 4:42
  7. Sanctify Yourself” – 4:57
  8. “Come a Long Way” – 5:09


  1. “Once Upon a Time” – 6:19
  2. “All the Things She Said” – 4:22
  3. “Ghost Dancing” – 4:45
  4. “Alive and Kicking” – 5:14
  5. “Oh Jungleland” – 5:24
  6. “I Wish You Were Here” – 4:45
  7. “Sanctify Yourself” – 5:00
  8. “Come a Long Way” – 5:23

The album was available with two covers upon its original LP release. The alternate cover uses the back image for the front and vice versa. It also moves the Simple Minds logo to the right of the cover. The two cover images fit together when placed side by side or above each other, and the release of the album in British record shops saw the two covers placed in a grid, alternating like the two colours on a chessboard. The album cover was standardised for the original CD release and this version has since been used for the various reissues of the album. A limited edition picture disc album was also released.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.